LibGuides@Southampton: Film studies: Home

	Find your resources using Library Search
	Access your Reading Lists
	Academic Skills
	Library Research Services
	Institutional Repository (ePrints Soton)
	Contact Us

Key Subject Resources

Library Search enables you to find journal articles quickly and easily. For a more focused and in-depth search, these are the key databases we recommend that you use. The complete list of electronic resources can be found in the A-Z resource list of e-resources.

All electronic resources can be accessed off-campus through the University's VPN service called Global Protect. Further information on how to connect to the University's VPN using Global Protect can be found here.

AFI Catalog This link opens in a new window
Online catalogue of the American Film Institute which covers nearly 60,000 American feature-length and 17,000 short films. Here you can find detailed information on cast, crew, plot summaries, subjects, genres and historical notes for each film.
BoB This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An off-air recording and media archive service that allows you to record TV and radio programmes scheduled for broadcast over the next seven days as well as retrieving programmes from the last seven days from a selected list of channels. In addition, you can watch programmes from the archive, create clips, and compile your favourite shows into playlists. Further information
Please switch off Global Protect for off-campus access.
Due to E.U legislation, any UK registered students in the EU will not be able to access BoB (apart from the BBC News Channel* ) from 1st January 2021.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Presents bibliographical information on the contents of some of the key academic and popular film journals. Many of these titles, such as Sight and Sound and Film Quartely, are available in the full text.
Film Index International This link opens in a new window
Produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute, this focuses on entertainment films and personalities from the first silent movies to the latest blockbusters and from over 170 countries.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes 1,500+ leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences,
Also lists select monographs and other academic sources such as Hebrew language journals
Media History Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Provides digitized collections of classic media periodicals. Especially good for finding early 20th century material.
Screen Studies (Bloomsbury) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Screen Studies is a dynamic digital platform taking users from script to screen and beyond – offering a broad range of content from Bloomsbury, Faber & Faber and the British Film Institute to support moving-image studies.
Click here to view the complete list of titles available.

The full list of key resources can be found under Journals and Databases.

Your Engagement Librarian

Name: Laura Díez Cobo
Email: libenqs@soton.ac.uk

PressReader - this link provides digital access to over 7000 top global newspapers and magazines.
For off campus access you will need to connect to the University’s VPN service, GlobalProtect.