LibGuides@Southampton: Film studies: Journals and Databases

Why Use Journals?

Articles are more up-to-date than books
They offer greater detail and insight into research
Peer-reviewed articles are considered more reliable

How Do I Know If You Have It?

Found a good article? Now you need to know whether you can get the full text.

If you've run a database search, the article's record may have a "Full Text" or "PDF" link - that's great: click to get the full text. If not, look out for the Full Text Finder icon - click this to find out if we have access to the journal.

Off-Campus Access

Accessing library resources from home

To connect to library resources such as databases and journals you will need to use the University’s VPN service called Globalprotect. Advice on how to set your connection up can be found on the iSolutions page How do I set up VPN on my device?

Combined search box

Film studies key databases

Library Search enables you to find journal articles quickly and easily. For a more focused and in-depth search, these are the key databases we recommend that you use. The complete list of electronic resources can be found in the A-Z resource list of e-resources.

All electronic resources can be accessed off-campus through the University's VPN service called Global Protect. Further information on how to connect to the University's VPN using Global Protect can be found here.

AFI Catalog This link opens in a new window
Online catalogue of the American Film Institute which covers nearly 60,000 American feature-length and 17,000 short films. Here you can find detailed information on cast, crew, plot summaries, subjects, genres and historical notes for each film.
British Artists' Film & Video Study Collection This link opens in a new window
Based at Central Saint Martins, this collection is dedicated to the work of moving image artists and documents the development of the moving image as an art-form between 1960 and 2000.
Cambridge Core Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 420 peer-reviewed journals and their digitised archives, covering subjects across the humanities, social sciences and science, technology and medicine.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (1880 - 2015) This link opens in a new window
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Issues have been scanned in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of articles, covers, ads and reviews.

We have access to:
EIMA1: Music, Radio and The Stage
EIMA2: Cinema, Film and Television (Part 1)
EIMA3: Cinema, Film and Television (Part 2)
EIMA4: Rock, Folk and Hip-hop
EIMA5: Video Gaming
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Presents bibliographical information on the contents of some of the key academic and popular film journals. Many of these titles, such as Sight and Sound and Film Quartely, are available in the full text.
Film Index International This link opens in a new window
Produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute, this focuses on entertainment films and personalities from the first silent movies to the latest blockbusters and from over 170 countries.
Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
Power Search cross-searches all periodicals and eBooks on the Gale platform, providing periodical and reference content in a single, seamless search. More Information
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes 1,500+ leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences,
Also lists select monographs and other academic sources such as Hebrew language journals
Media History Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Provides digitized collections of classic media periodicals. Especially good for finding early 20th century material.
Motion Picture Scripts Database This link opens in a new window
A searchable interface to the film script holdings of six Los Angeles-area collections: the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, the American Film Institute, the Frances Howard Goldwyn Hollywood Regional Library, the University of California at Los Angeles, the University of Southern California, and the Writers Guild Foundation.
National Center for Jewish Film This link opens in a new window
Based at Brandeis University, the Centre's mission is the collection, preservation and exhibition of films with artistic and educational value relevant to the Jewish experience. Includes an A-Z list and availablility.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content. It includes ebooks and journals.
Science Fiction and Fantasy Collection This link opens in a new window
Online index to over 100,000 historical and critical items about science fiction, fantasy and horror.
Screen Studies (Bloomsbury) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Screen Studies is a dynamic digital platform taking users from script to screen and beyond – offering a broad range of content from Bloomsbury, Faber & Faber and the British Film Institute to support moving-image studies.
Click here to view the complete list of titles available.
Television and Radio Index For Teaching and Learning This link opens in a new window
Hosted by the British Universities Film and Video Council, this resource provides the listings from more than 475 television and radio channels dating back to 1995.

No Full Text?

Important article? Can't get the full text? Try our Inter-Library Loans service...

Recommended websites

Media History Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Provides digitized collections of classic media periodicals. Especially good for finding early 20th century material.
Television and Radio Index For Teaching and Learning This link opens in a new window
Hosted by the British Universities Film and Video Council, this resource provides the listings from more than 475 television and radio channels dating back to 1995.
TVTip: TVTimes Project 1955-1985 This link opens in a new window
The TVTimes Project 1955-1985 provides unique online access to the listings of the London Edition of the TVTimes from September 1955 - March 1985.
TVTiP allows you to search for programmes, production staff and performers.