The Regulation and Quality Improvement Authority (RQIA) is the independent body responsible for monitoring and inspecting the availability and quality of health and social care services in Northern Ireland, and encouraging improvements in the quality of those services.
Link to RQIA
Link to HQIP
Clinical audit is a way to find out if healthcare is being provided in line with standards and lets care providers and patients know where their service is doing well, and where there could be improvements.
The aim is to allow quality improvement to take place where it will be most helpful and will improve outcomes for patients. Clinical audits can look at care nationwide, National Clinical Audits and Local Clinical Audits can also be performed locally in trusts, hospitals or GP practices anywhere healthcare is provided.
Link to NHS England - Clinical Audit
The Cochrane Library (named after Dr Archie Cochrane) is a collection of databases in medicine and other healthcare specialties provided by the Cochrane Collaboration and other organizations. At its core is the collection of Cochrane Reviews, a database of systematic reviews and meta-analyses which summarize and interpret the results of medical research.
Link to COCHRANE
CINAHL subject headings are assigned to each record to describe the content of the article.Subject headings are descriptive terms added by the database creators to describe the content of articles in a consistent, standardised vocabulary; regardless of the terminology used by the original authors.
Link to CINAHL
What is Evidence Search and what does it contain?
Link to Evidence Search
Grey literature is the term given to non-traditional publications (material not published by mainstream publishers). For example - leaflets, reports, conference proceedings, government documents, preprints, theses, clinical trials, blogs, tweets, etc..
The majority of grey literature is generally not peer-reviewed so it is very important to critically appraise any grey literature before using it unless you are using a web site like Evidence Search.
Listed below you will find a selection of sources you can use to search for grey literature. Please note that this is not an exhaustive list and there may be other useful sources of information available.
Evidence Search Health and Social Care (NICE) provides access to selected and authoritative evidence in health, social care and public health
The British Library has a comprehensive collection of public available reports, conferences and theses covering all subject disciplines
HealthKnowledge is a public health learning platform
Open Grey is a multidisciplinary European database, covering science, technology, biomedical science, economics, social science and humanities
The Campbell Collaboration is an international research network that produces systematic reviews of the effects of social interventions in crime & Justice, International Development, and Social Welfare
The King's Fund is an independent charity working to improve health and health care in England
Social Care Online is the UK's largest online database of information on al aspects of social work amd social care
UK Clinical Research network Study Portfolio is a repository for recording research taking place within the NHS in the UK.
National Technical Information Service provides access to the results of both US and non-US government sponsored research