Skip to main content

Parkes Library, Special Collections, Hartley Library: Archives

The Parkes Library was established by James Parkes, a tireless campaigner against anti-Semitism, and is a major resource for the study of Jewish/non-Jewish relations across the ages.

Letter books of the secretary of the Board of Guardians for the Relief of the Jewish Poor

AJR Refugee Voices

Refugee Voices is an electronic collection of 150 filmed interviews with Jewish refugees and Holocaust survivors who made their home in Great Britain. 

To make an appointment to use the collection contact the Search Room on 023 8059 2721 or email archives@soton.ac.uk

You will need to bring I.D.for access to the Search Room.

Fortunoff Video Archive

The Parkes Library has on loan a set of twenty copies of videos from the Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies

You can see an abstract of the contents of each video if you link to the full catalogue record from the list of titles.

To make an appointment to use the videos contact the Search Room on 023 8059 2721 or email archives@soton.ac.uk.

You will need to bring I.D. for access to the Search Room.

Special Collections, Hartley Library

Special Collections is an important centre for the study of Anglo-Jewish history in the eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries and for the relations between the Jewish and non-Jewish worlds.

Anglo-Jewish Archives - over 850 collections containing important holdings for prominent individuals, including Sir Basil Henriques (MS 307), Chief Rabbi Joseph Hertz (MS 175) and Rabbi Solomon Schonfeld (MS 183) also the archives of organisations such as the Jewish Board of Guardians (MS 173) and the British Section of the World Jewish Congress (MS 238).

Interfaith Collections include the papers of James Parkes (MS 60) and the Council of Christians and Jews (MS 65).

Nuremberg Trials material (MS 200) includes transcripts for the International Military Tribunal at Nuremberg and for the twelve subsequent US zonal trials at Nuremberg.

See Introduction to the Anglo-Jewish Archives to find out more about the collections and Visiting Special Collections for information on how to access them.

Virtual Reading Room

Records of the Anglo-Jewish Association up to 1945 have been digitised and are accessible online through the Archives Virtual Reading Room. Since the 1870s the AJA has offered support for Jewish philanthropic interests in the English speaking world and has been closely involved with many Jewish communites overseas.

Online Archive Collections

Archives Unbound provides members of the University with digital access to a number of archive collections held elsewhere. Those which particularly relate to Parkes include:

  • L'Affaire Dreyfus: son influence dans la création de la France moderne (The Dreyfus Affair in the making of Modern France)
  • British Mandate in Palestine, Arab-Jewish Relations and the U.S. Consulate at Jerusalem, 1920-1944
  • Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons
  • German Anti-Semitic Propaganda, 1909-1941
  • Holocaust and the Concentration Camp Trials: Prosecution of Nazi War Crimes
  • Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: the West's Response to Jewish Emigration
  • The Jewish Question: Records from the Berlin Document Center
  • Jewish Underground Resistance: the David Diamant Collection
  • Lebanon, Palestine, Syria, Trans-Jordan: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1836-1944
  • Middle East Online: Arab-Israel Relations, 1917-1920
  • Nazi Bank and Financial Institutions: U.S. Military Government Investigation Reports and Interrogations of Nazi Financiers, 1945-1949
  • Palestine and Israel: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1959
  • Post-War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950
  • SAFEHAVEN Reports on Nazi looting of Occupied Countries and Assets in Neutral Countries
  • Testaments to the Holocaust. Documents and Rare Printed Materials from the Wiener Library, London

Archives on Microfilm

The Parkes Library holds the following archive collections on microfilm:

  • Archives of the Central British Fund for World Jewish Relief (Research Publications) Microfilm 40048035- Guide shelved at Parkes Z/BZ 6651.C46 
  • Immigrant in America. Unit 7: Jew (Primary Source Microfilm) Microfilm 00250939-00250961
  • Records of the Displaced Persons Camps in Germany (YIVO Institute for Jewish Research) Microfilm 00420721
  • Testaments to the Holocaust Series 3 : The Henriques Archive from the Wiener Library, London (Primary Source Media) Microfilm 00186882-

Archive Catalogues

Use the following sites to search across UK archive collections

  • Archives Hub - Gateway to descriptions of archives in UK universities and colleges