Skip to main content

Audiology: 3rd year Audiology students

Help with Using Databases

These sections below give you links to PowerPoint presentations and worksheets for our most popular databases.

CINAHL Subject Heading Searching

CINAHL subject headings are assigned to each record to describe the content of the article.Subject headings are descriptive terms added by the database creators to describe the content of articles in a consistent, standardised vocabulary; regardless of the terminology used by the original authors.

Link to CINAHL

The Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library (named after Dr Archie Cochrane) is a collection of databases in medicine and other healthcare specialties provided by the Cochrane Collaboration and other organizations. At its core is the collection of Cochrane Reviews, a database of systematic reviews and meta-analyses which summarize and interpret the results of medical research.

Link to COCHRANE

DelphiS Keyword Searching

DelphiS is a single multi-disciplinary interface which allows you to discover electronic and print items in the library's collection including other academic resources/databases that we subscribe to including Medline, CINAHL, Web of Science, Scopus and many more.

Link to DelphiS

Medline - Medical Subject Heading (MeSH) Searching

MeSH provides a consistent way to retrieve information where different terms or spellings are used by authors for the same concept.

Link to Medline

Web of Science

Web of Science Citation Searching

Unlike most other databases, the cited reference list of each article is included in all Web of Science records, and this enables a number of valuable and unique search functions associated with the linkage between citing and cited articles.

Link to Web of Science

Your Literature Search

As part of your individual project you will need to undertake a Literature Search, this search will help you to find existing research and information about your chosen topic. From the results of this search you will be able to produce a Literature Review which is a written piece of work that summarises and analyses the literature and information you have found in your search.  

Help with your search strategy

Learn how to put together an effective search strategy, search reliable sources and achieve better results! Take a look at the links below ... 

Stage 1 - Creating Your Search Strategy/Planning Your Literature Search

Before you actually start searching using DelphiS and the health subject related databases it is essential that you spend some time thinking about and planning your search. This presentation will take you through that procedure. 

Planning a Literature Search

Stage 2 - Starting Your Search

When you have put together your search strategy you can start searching. We suggest that you start by conducting a keyword search on DelphiS which will help you to 'scope' your search so that you can see what terminology is used, which databases the references are coming from (Content Provider link) and how much research has been done on your chosen topic/s. 

Following this you can use the subject related databases such as CINAHL, Medline and Engineering Village for Subject Heading/MeSH searching.

Help with using DelphiS and the other subject related databases can be found in the column on the left but you will also find these and others on this Audiology LibGuides page. 

 

The Advantages of Using Subject Specific Databases

A DelphiS keyword search is a good start for scoping a search but it is important to move from DelphiS to using subject specific databases and this PowerPoint presentation will explain some of the advantages.

Evidence Search - the heath professionals alternative to Google

What is Evidence Search and what does it contain?

  • Evidence Search is an online search engine that identifies relevant clinical, public health and social care guidance.
  • Evidence Search gives free access to health, public health and social care information from over 1000 trustworthy and accredited sources.
  • All  of the information on Evidence Search is checked by a team of staff employed by NICE before it is added to the web site.
  • Its sources include the British National Formulary, Clinical Knowledge Summaries, SIGN, Cochrane Library, Social Care Online, GOV.UK, NICE Guidelines and many more.

Link to Evidence Search

Useful books

These are four useful books which will help you with your research skills which are in the library, please check WebCat to find other useful books which we have in the library.
 
Williamson, JR & Whittaker. A. (2014) Succeeding in literature reviews and research project plans for nursing students. 2nd edn. London: SAGE/Learning Matters.WebCat link to print copy
 
Coughlan, M. (2013) Doing a literature review in nursing, health and social care. London: SAGE.  WebCat link to print copy
 
Aveyard, H. (2014) Doing a literature review in health and social care. 3rd edn. Maidenhead: Open University Press. WebCat link to e-book , print copy
 
Jesson, J.K. (2011) Doing your literature review: traditional and systematic techniques. London: Sage. WebCat link to print copy
 
Maier, P. (2009) Study skills for science, engineering and technology students. Harlow: Pearson, Longman. WebCat link to print copy, e-book
 
Ridley, D. (2012) The literature review: a step-by-step guide for students. 2nd edn. London, Sage WebCat link to print copy

Grey Literature

Grey Literature is the term given to non-traditional publications (material not published by mainstream publishers), for example leaflets, reports, conference proceedings, government documents, preprints, theses, clinical trials, blogs, tweets, etc.

The majority of Grey literature is generally not peer-reviewed so it is very important to critically appraise any grey literature before using it.

The link below will take you to a selection of sources you can use to search for Grey Literature. Please note that this is not an exhaustive list and there may be other useful sources of information available.

 



Follow @UniSotonLibrary