Skip to main content

Course Collection - tutor's guide: Digitisation requests

Submit a request

If you would like to submit a digitisation request please:

 

Humanities

Course Collection Digitisation request

Avenue Library accepts Course Collection digitisation requests from course tutors. Please see the examples below for the information we require when submitting your requests.

If any of these elements are missing  it may cause delays in your requests being processed.

Finally, a reminder that during busy periods we will operate a 21 day lead time for all new Course Collection digitisation requests.

Book Title

Book title

Author

Publisher

Year of

Publication

Extract/

Chapter  title

Extract

author

Page numbers

 Week

required

World cinemas, transnational perspectives

Vieira, Joao Luiz

Routledge

2010

The transnational other.

Ďurovičová, Nataša

226-243

6

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Journal Title

Journal title

Author of article

Title of article

Year of

Publication

Volume

Issue number

Page numbers

 Week

required

Journal of Egyptian archaeology

Davies, Norman

A Syrian trading venture to Egypt

1947

33

2

40-46

3

 

How do I find Course Collection resources?

Use :

  •  has separate Course Collection search options. This is the most efficient way of searching for course material. It enables you to search for items for a specific course or lecturer, using either the course code/name, or the lecturer's name
  • all course collection items can also be found using the standard WebCat catalogue search

To view all items for a specific unit / course you should:

  • login to WebCat with your  User Name & Password
  • Select Course Collections
  • Enter the course code, e.g. HIST 1080 (space between letters and numbers)
  • Select Search by Course Code

This will produce a list of all the items (physical and online stock) held for that course. 

Stock available online will have [electronic resource] after the title. Select the item you wish to access. Click on the text 'online link to document' to view the document in full.

 

 

Eligibility

Is my request eligible for scanning/copying?

For any one course, printed books, journals and magazines can be scanned/copied providing they comply with the terms and conditions of the CLA HE Licence . The key points of which are as follows:

 

  • Up to 10% or one complete chapter of a book
  • Up to 10% or one single article from a journal or periodical issue
  • All articles or extracts included in our collections must show full source details and we are  therefore only able to accept clearly referenced material
  • Source MUST be published in the UK, or from one of the mandated international territories
  • Source material: must be held in library stock or Copyright Cleared requested via ILL service
  • Source must be scanned from the latest edition of the book

The CLA HE Licence

The current accord says it is a breach of the Licence if items are placed in a course collection with the intention that students will systematically copy them.

The Accord also says it is permissible to place items in the collection if the intention is to facilitate wider access by students within a restricted time-scale.  This is our intention in providing a course collection.

As part of our commitment to this, we expect all University staff and students using the Library course collections to follow these points as set out in the  Accord, i.e. staff and students have not, under any circumstances been instructed to copy items held in our course collections.

That is not to say copying is not allowed.  Fair dealing allows individuals to copy for the purposes of research or private study.



Follow @UniSotonLibrary