Skip to main content

Training and Workshops - Dissertations: Home

Library Enabling Careers All workshops Online training

 


Dissertation training and workshops

Dissertations: Finding Resources

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Thursday, February 06, 2020
12:00 - 12:40
Hartley Library Training Room 4077
Book Now

Move away from Google and identify relevant scholarly resources such as journal articles, books, conference proceedings and reports using subject databases and other reliable sources. You will learn about evaluating web pages, the basics of referencing, and how to access resources from our collections and beyond.

Writing the Dissertation: the Methods or Methodology

For: Date: Time: Location: Undergraduate students
Thursday, February 06, 2020
13:00 - 14:30
Hartley Library Training Room 4075
Book Now

Please note that this session is for undergraduates working on their dissertation, or extended project. The Library will be running sessions in the summer focusing on the postgraduate dissertation. This workshop provides guidance on writing a methods or methodology chapter for an undergraduate dissertation, or extended project. The session covers the main conventions of a methods or methodology chapter and also focuses on practical ways of structuring the chapter in a clear and coherent way. This is part of the Library’s ‘Writing the Dissertation’ series for undergraduate students where we break the dissertation down, piece by piece. See this page for more workshops in the series.

Dissertations: Finding Resources

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Tuesday, February 25, 2020
13:00 - 13:40
Hartley Library Training Room 4077
Book Now

Move away from Google and identify relevant scholarly resources such as journal articles, books, conference proceedings and reports using subject databases and other reliable sources. You will learn about evaluating web pages, the basics of referencing, and how to access resources from our collections and beyond.

Combining structure and formatting your dissertation (Word for PC)

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Thursday, February 27, 2020
13:00 - 14:30
Hartley Library Training Room 4077
Book Now

Learn about best practice when formatting a long and structured document such as a dissertation. This is the first of three sessions on using Word for PC to create your dissertation. This hands-on workshop allows you to get the very best out of Word functionality. By the end of the session you will have an understanding of what Styles are and why they are key to using Word; how to apply and modify key Styles; make use of the additional benefits of Styles - Navigation Pane, Table of Contents, Cross-reference and accessibility features.

Writing the Dissertation: the Results and Discussion

For: Date: Time: Location: Undergraduate students
Wednesday, March 04, 2020
14:00 - 15:30
Hartley Library Training Room 4075
Book Now

Please note that this session is for undergraduates working on their dissertation, or extended project. The Library will be running sessions in the summer focusing on the postgraduate dissertation. This workshop provides guidance on writing the results and discussion chapters, or chapter, for an undergraduate dissertation, or extended project. The session clarifies the difference between the two, before covering the main conventions that characterise these sections, such as using tables and figures. This is part of the Library’s ‘Writing the Dissertation’ series for undergraduate students where we break the dissertation down, piece by piece. See this page for more workshops in the series.

Using tables and graphics in your dissertation (Word for PC)

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Thursday, March 05, 2020
13:00 - 14:30
Hartley Library Training Room 4077
Book Now

Learn about best practice in Word (for PC) when including data or graphical evidence. Such objects should be clearly labelled, referenced and made accessibility compliant. This is the second of three hands-on sessions using Word for PC to create your dissertation. This session is all about ensuring that you can: convert text to tables; repeat your table's header row; sort data inside a table; use referencing tools such as captions, cross-references and tables of figures; add accessibility features.

Dissertation page layout (Word for PC)

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Monday, March 09, 2020
10:00 - 11:30
Hartley Library Training Room 4077
Book Now

Learn about best practice in Word (for PC) when using page layout features. This is the third of three hands-on sessions using Word for PC to create your dissertation. This session is all about ensuring that you can correctly set up your file paper size and margins; create landscape pages for large tables or diagrams; create running content such as page headers and page numbering; ensure content that you want to appear together stays together.

Writing the Dissertation: the Results and Discussion

For: Date: Time: Location: Undergraduate students
Tuesday, March 10, 2020
13:00 - 14:30
Hartley Library Training Room 4075
Book Now

Please note that this session is for undergraduates working on their dissertation, or extended project. The Library will be running sessions in the summer focusing on the postgraduate dissertation. This workshop provides guidance on writing the results and discussion chapters, or chapter, for an undergraduate dissertation, or extended project. The session clarifies the difference between the two, before covering the main conventions that characterise these sections, such as using tables and figures. This is part of the Library’s ‘Writing the Dissertation’ series for undergraduate students where we break the dissertation down, piece by piece. See this page for more workshops in the series.

Writing the Dissertation: the Introduction and Conclusion

For: Date: Time: Location: Undergraduate students
Thursday, March 12, 2020
13:00 - 14:30
Hartley Library Training Room 4075
Book Now

Please note that this session is for undergraduates working on their dissertation, or extended project. The Library will be running sessions in the summer focusing on the postgraduate dissertation. This workshop provides guidance on writing the introduction and conclusion of an undergraduate dissertation, or extended project. Whilst often overlooked, this session emphasises the importance of both the introduction and conclusion and how they should be structured to bookend the whole dissertation. This is part of the Library’s ‘Writing the Dissertation’ series for undergraduate students where we break the dissertation down, piece by piece. See this page for more workshops in the series.

Dissertations: Finding Resources

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Thursday, March 12, 2020
13:00 - 13:40
Hartley Library Training Room 4077
Book Now

Move away from Google and identify relevant scholarly resources such as journal articles, books, conference proceedings and reports using subject databases and other reliable sources. You will learn about evaluating web pages, the basics of referencing, and how to access resources from our collections and beyond.

Writing the Dissertation: the Introduction and Conclusion

For: Date: Time: Location: Undergraduate students
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
14:00 - 15:30
Hartley Library Training Room 4075
Book Now

Please note that this session is for undergraduates working on their dissertation, or extended project. The Library will be running sessions in the summer focusing on the postgraduate dissertation. This workshop provides guidance on writing the introduction and conclusion of an undergraduate dissertation, or extended project. Whilst often overlooked, this session emphasises the importance of both the introduction and conclusion and how they should be structured to bookend the whole dissertation. This is part of the Library’s ‘Writing the Dissertation’ series for undergraduate students where we break the dissertation down, piece by piece. See this page for more workshops in the series.

Dissertations: Finding Resources

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
13:00 - 13:40
Hartley Library Training Room 4077
Book Now

Move away from Google and identify relevant scholarly resources such as journal articles, books, conference proceedings and reports using subject databases and other reliable sources. You will learn about evaluating web pages, the basics of referencing, and how to access resources from our collections and beyond.

Dissertations: Finding Resources

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
12:00 - 12:40
Hartley Library Training Room 4077
Book Now

Move away from Google and identify relevant scholarly resources such as journal articles, books, conference proceedings and reports using subject databases and other reliable sources. You will learn about evaluating web pages, the basics of referencing, and how to access resources from our collections and beyond.

Dissertations: Finding Resources

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Thursday, July 09, 2020
13:00 - 13:40
Hartley Library Training Room 4077
Book Now

Move away from Google and identify relevant scholarly resources such as journal articles, books, conference proceedings and reports using subject databases and other reliable sources. You will learn about evaluating web pages, the basics of referencing, and how to access resources from our collections and beyond.