H.F.C. Library
The H.F.C. Library includes material on the regional history of Great Britain, with a particular emphasis on ecclesiastical buildings, ranging from the cathedral to the parish church. There is also a general section on architecture and a small amount of material on natural history.
The collection includes the H.F.C.'s own publications and 13 volumes of programmes and press cuttings which document its activities from 1885 to 1933.
The H.F.C. acquires journals by exchange with other English local history societies, many of these titles are shelved in the general periodicals sequence at per C-F.
Extent: Over 800 books and 70 periodicals, mainly 20th century publications.
Location and Access
The H.F.C. Library is part of Special Collections on level 4 of the Hartley Library on the Highfield Campus. The books are shelved in the Special Collections open access area.
The collection can be used by members of the University whenever the Hartley Library is open. Access for visitors is between 08.00-22.00 and photo ID is required when signing in at Library Reception. If you are under 18 please contact libenqs@soton.ac.uk with your enquiry.
Our computer workstations are only available to University staff and students, but you can connect your own device to the free WiFi Guest service.
Catalogue
Library Search includes records for all Hampshire Field Club Library books and journals (call number H.F.C.). It enables you to search the Library's printed books, journals and electronic resources at the same time. Access to e-resources is limited to staff and students of the University.
Basic Search
Enter keywords / author surname / significant title words in the search box and then refine the Results List using the filters on the left e.g. by book / date / subject. You can re-sort the Results List to your preferred order using the drop-down menu at the top of the list.
To limit a search to the H.F.C. Library, enter your search terms followed by B8: Field Club
Library Search groups print copies, e-books and different editions of the same work under one record in the Results List. To see the separate records, select the 'Show all' filter.
Advanced Search
Using Advanced Search, you can undertake a more targeted search by selecting search indexes from drop-down lists and by presetting filters for format and date.
To limit a search to the H.F.C. Library, include 'B8: Field Club' as a keyword search.
See Hampshire Field Club Library for a list of titles.
Borrowing Books
Most H.F.C. Library books are available for Standard Loan.
If you have a University I.D./Library Card you can borrow books at the Loans Desk or at the self-issue units on level 2.
Members of the Hampshire Field Club can apply for free membership of the Library as External Borrowers.
Enquiries
Contact: Jenny Ruthven email: archives@soton.ac.uk tel. 023 80593335
Address: Special Collections, Hartley Library, University of Southampton, Highfield, Southampton SO17 1BJ
Collection History
Hampshire Field Club & Archaeological Society was founded in 1885 for the study of the natural history and antiquities of the county. It is organized in five sections: archaeology, historic buildings, landscape, local history and the New Forest. Each section contributes to the programme of lectures, field meetings, exhibitions and conferences, and to reports of these activities in the Newsletter.
The Hampshire Field Club has published its Proceedings (now Hampshire Studies ) since 1885 and also supports a series of monographs on selected subjects.
The Library of the Hampshire Field Club was placed on deposit at the University Library in 1964.
