The H.G.T.- Hutton Library has as its focus the history of garden design, with an emphasis on British landscapes and gardens. There are descriptions of the appearance and function of the garden from ancient times onwards as well as studies of individual gardens and designed landscapes. The collection includes books on garden ornament and garden buildings and also extends to the history of public parks and gardens. Guides to garden research include Parks and Gardens : a Researcher's Guide to Sources for Designed Landscapes by David Lambert (2006) and Ray Desmond's Bibliography of British Gardens (1984).
Journals include Garden History, European Gardens, Studies in the History of Gardens and Designed Landscapes, My Garden and Hortus.
Extent: 440 books and 9 journals.
The H.G.T.-Hutton Library is part of Special Collections on level 4 of the Hartley Library on the Highfield Campus. The books are shelved in the Special Collections open access area.
The collection can be used by members of the University whenever the Hartley Library is open. Access for visitors is between 08.00-22.00 and photo ID is required when signing in at Library Reception. If you are under 18 please contact firstname.lastname@example.org with your enquiry.
Our computer workstations are only available to University staff and students, but you can connect your own device to the free WiFi Guest service.
Library Search includes records for all Hampshire Gardens Trust Library books and journals (call number H.G.T.). It enables you to search the Library's printed books, journals and electronic resources at the same time. Access to e-resources is limited to staff and students of the University.
Enter keywords / author surname / significant title words in the search box and then refine the Results List using the filters on the left e.g. by book / date / subject. You can re-sort the Results List to your preferred order using the drop-down menu at the top of the list.
To limit a search to the H.G.T. Library, enter your search terms followed by B8: Gardens Trust
Library Search groups print copies, e-books and different editions of the same work under one record in the Results List. To see the separate records, select the 'Show all' filter.
Using Advanced Search, you can undertake a more targeted search by selecting search indexes from drop-down lists and by presetting filters for format and date.
To limit a search to the H.G.T. Library, include 'B8: Gardens Trust Library' as a keyword search.
See Hampshire Gardens Trust Library for a list of titles.
Most H.G.T. books are available for Standard Loan.
If you have a University I.D./Library Card you can borrow books at the Loans Desk or at the self-issue units on level 2.
Members of the Hampshire Gardens Trust can apply for free membership of the Library as External Borrowers.
The Hampshire Gardens Trust Library was established at the University Library in 1984 to support the Hampshire Gardens Trust in its work of providing advice on the restoration, re-creation and management of gardens and parks at risk from neglect or inappropriate development.
For over twenty years, Professor Stan Hutton was the Honorary Librarian of the H.G.T. Library and was responsible for developing the collection of books and periodicals, which has become an invaluable resource for garden researchers of today. Following his death in 2014, the H.G.T. Library was renamed the Hampshire Gardens Trust-Hutton Library in honour of his work in creating this important collection.