LibGuides@Southampton: Ageing/Gerontology: Journal Articles

Why Use Journals?

Articles are more up-to-date than books
They offer greater detail and insight into research
Peer-reviewed articles are considered more reliable

Understanding An Article Reference

A correctly formatted reference will tell you exactly where to find the full article:

DING, Y., JACOB, E. K., ZHIXIONG, Z., FOO, S., ERJIA, Y., GEORGE, N. L. and LIJIANG, G. (2009) Perspectives on social tagging, Journal of the American Society for Information Science and Technology, 60 (12), 2388-2401.

This article was written by Y Ding & colleagues, and the article's title is "Perspectives on social tagging". It was published in 2009 in the journal called "Journal of the American Society for Information Science and Technology". It was published in volume 60, issue 12, and the article ran from page 2388 to 2401.

Key Databases for Ageing/Gerontology

AgeInfo This link opens in a new window
AgeInfo is an information service about old age and ageing provided by the The Centre for Policy on Ageing. *No password needed on campus. Off campus access by password (click on the password icon).
IBSS - International Bibliography of The Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides references and, in many cases, abstracts for journal articles, books and book chapters in the social sciences, from 1951 to current.
IBSS has particular strengths in politics, economics, sociology and anthropology. Click on the TDNet links to check for full-text. No password on campus. Off campus VPN or Institutional login.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The key database for psychology and related subjects. Contains references and abstracts for scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations, some dating back to the 1600s. The full-text is available for some journal articles. Where there is no full-text link, click on the Full Text Finder link to check for full-text.
Provided by the American Psychological Association’s (APA). The largest database of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Covers related subjects including medicine, law, neuroscience, business, human resource management, nursing, forensics, criminology, engineering, sociology and gerontology. Includes about 2500 journals, in many languages, from 1800s to present (including all articles from PsycARTICLES).
Social Care Online This link opens in a new window
This is the UK's largest database of information and research on all aspects of social care and social work. Updated daily resources include legislation, government documents, practice and guidance, systematic reviews, research briefings, reports, journal articles and websites.
No password is required.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides references, and in many cases abstracts, for peer-reviewed scholarly journal articles in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. Includes the Science Citation Index Expanded (1970-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1970-present) and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present). Also provides citation data and references to books and conference papers. Click on the Full Text Finder links to check for full-text.
Our access to WOS now includes the 'Emerging Sources Citations Index: 2005-present'. Journals included in ESCI cover all disciplines and range from international and broad scope publications to those that provide deeper regional or speciality area coverage.

VPN (GlobalProtect)

You can use the University’s VPN service, GlobalProtect, for off-campus access to online resources. Advice on how to set your connection up can be found on the iSolutions page How do I set up VPN on my device? 