LibGuides@Southampton: Gale: Home

About

Gale is a collection of primary and secondary sources. It is a collection of medicine, engineering, history, politics, sociology, philosophy, economics, religion and many other fields of science, books, archival materials and news sources.

The world's leading magazines, reference sources, archival documents, encyclopaedias and literary sources have been made available.

To search across the various Gale resources, we recommend using the following:

Gale Research Complete This link opens in a new window
The official landing page for the Gale Research Complete package. This is a centralised location for the three cross-searching platform options with built in search bars, and detailed descriptions for each product to explain the resources thoroughly.

Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
Power Search cross-searches all periodicals and eBooks on the Gale platform, providing periodical and reference content in a single, seamless search. More Information

Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Literary Sources brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways. Further Information

Gale also offers you the option to search their databases individually. Please see below for more information.

Archives Unbound

Broad topic clusters include: African American studies; American Indian studies; Asian studies; British history; Holocaust studies; LGBT studies; Latin American and Caribbean studies; Middle East studies; political science; religious studies; and women’s studies. The Archives Unbound program consists of more than 290,000 documents totalling 12 million pages. Individual titles in the collection range between 1,200 and 200,000 pages.

Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
A collection of digitalized microfilms documenting most important historical events and features 5,000 to 200,000 pages per collection. It also includes diplomatic reports from the Ottoman Empire, Turkish Republic, Middle East and Northern Africa. Particular strengths in the Archive Unbound catalogue include U.S. foreign policy; U.S. civil rights; global affairs and colonial studies; and modern history.

A user guide can be found at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A8Q3TtgsEi8

Literary Sources

Gale Literary Sources provides access to 8 different literature databases including more than 1,5 million critiques, poems, plays, dramas, biographies, articles and quotations. With a series of databases, it supports scholars researching the Western Literature. It includes:

Contemporary Authors Online This link opens in a new window
Providing biographical information on more than 149,000 modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters. Sketches typically include personal information, contact information, career history, writings, biographical and critical sources, authors' comments, and informative essays about their lives and work.
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete This link opens in a new window
Providing reliable information on authors and their works.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Providing a compilation of literary commentary.
The Literature Resource Centre This link opens in a new window
Enabling a person or literary work search
The LitFinder This link opens in a new window
Providing access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 130,000 full-text poems and 650,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. The database also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more.
Scribner Writer Series This link opens in a new window
Providing access to US, European and British writers, and World poets.
Twayne’s Author Series provides access to of frequently-used Twayne Literary Masters books on individual World, US, or English authors.
Something About the Author Online This link opens in a new window
Providing comprehensive access to all volumes ever printed in Gale's ‘Something About the Author’ series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people. Something About the Author Online includes both the main series and Something About the Author Autobiography Series, totaling more than 290 volumes, 20,000 entries, and nearly 30,000 images.
Twayne’s Author Series This link opens in a new window
Providing access to of frequently-used Twayne Literary Masters books on individual World, US, or English authors.

Journals and Newspapers

Gale Journals and Newspapers provides access to 6 different databases. It includes:

OneFile This link opens in a new window
OneFile provides access to an article database that includes full-text and abstracts of scholarly, trade, and general-interest periodicals covering topics in the areas of current events, general sciences and technology, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
General OneFile provides access to a general periodical database which contains over 12,000 periodicals, newspapers, reference books and multimedia sources, over half of which are full text. The back file extends nearly 30 years. Subjects include humanities, education, environmental issues, technology, health care, politics and more.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Providing a collection of 4000-volume encyclopaedia including 1,700 entries from all disciplines.

A user guide can be found at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gqg9Q3lREOQ

Gale: Home

About

Archives Unbound

Literary Sources

Journals and Newspapers

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Further information