LibGuides@Southampton: Audiology: Databases

Key Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to midwifery, nursing, occupational therapy, physiotherapy, podiatry, audiology, health education and other related subject areas.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is known as the home the Cochrane Reviews, the "gold standard" systematic reviews in healthcare interventions. But it also contains information about other systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials, economic evaluations and health technology assessments.
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EMBASE is a leading clinical medicine and biomedical database - similar in coverage to MEDLINE but with particular strengths in drugs, toxicology, biotechnology, health affairs and forensic medicine.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Compendex is a large and interdisciplinary engineering information database with coverage from 1969. Geobase covers climatology, energy, environment, and hydrology with coverage from 1973. Inspec is a subject-specific and interdisciplinary research database in the fields of engineering, physics and computer science. Further Information
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the world's best-known medicine and clinical science database, covering literature from around the world since 1946. It has a comprehensive set of controlled vocabulary called Medical Subject Headings (MeSH terms). MEDLINE is also available free on the web as PubMed.
The database contains more than 21.6 million records from 5,582 selected publications covering biomedicine and health from 1950 to the present. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, the MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE provides information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, as well as coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO is the key database for psychology and related subjects. It contains references and abstracts for journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations
Provided by the American Psychological Association’s (APA). The largest database of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Covers related subjects including medicine, law, neuroscience, business, human resource management, nursing, forensics, criminology, engineering, sociology and gerontology. Includes about 2500 journals, in many languages, from 1800s to present (including all articles from PsycARTICLES).
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Previously called the Web of Knowledge. Provides access to a number of databases including Web of Science Core Collection (covering engineering, science, health, social science, humanities, etc.), BIOSIS (biological & biomedical science) and Inspec (physics, computing, electrical & electronic engineering, etc.). Select 'All Databases’ to search multiple databases simultaneously or choose an individual database.

Working Off-Campus

Very few of our resources are freely available to any web user. If you're at home, you'll need to use VPN (Virtual Private Network), which lets you open things as if you are on campus.

The University's VPN is called Global Protect. You can find instructions on using Global Protect here.

Alternatively, some resources may have an "institutional" or "Shibboleth" login option. Use this and log in with your University username and password.

CINAHL Subject heading Searching

CINAHL (Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature) subject headings are assigned to each record to describe the content of the article. The subject headings are descriptive terms added by the database creators to describe the content of articles in a consistent, standardised vocabulary; regardless of the terminology used by the original authors.

Link to CINAHL

CINAHL Subject Heading (PowerPoint)

The Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library (named after Dr Archie Cochrane) is a collection of databases in medicine and other healthcare specialties provided by the Cochrane Collaboration and other organizations. At its core is the collection of Cochrane Reviews, a database of systematic reviews and meta-analyses which summarize and interpret the results of medical research.

Link to COCHRANE

The Cochrane Library (PowerPoint)

Medline - Medical Subject Heading (MeSH) Searching

Using MeSH provides a consistent way to retrieve information where different terms or spellings are used by authors for the same concept and works in a similar way to Subject Heading Searching on CINAHL.

Link to Medline

Medline MeSh (Medical Subject Heading) Searching (PowerPoint)

Web of Science Citation Searching

Unlike most other databases, the cited reference list of each article is included in all Web of Science records, and this enables a number of valuable and unique search functions associated with the linkage between citing and cited articles.

Link to Web of Science

Web of Science Citation Searching

Supplementary Databases

British Standards Online This link opens in a new window
Search and access the full text of all current British Standards and many international standards (e.g. ISOs/IECs). See Terms & Conditions for printing and copying.
*From 1/9/2021 onwards, you will need to have the FileOpen plug-in installed to access BSI documents.
The plug-in can be downloaded from Serviceline here. For more information click here.
Evidence Search: Health & Social Care This link opens in a new window
Find good quality, evidence based information in the areas of health and social care. Sourced primarily from the UK, resources are only included if they meet quality criteria set out by NICE.

Prospero
PROSPERO is an international database of prospectively registered systematic reviews in health and social care. Key features from the review protocol are recorded and maintained as a permanent record.
more...less...
PROSPERO aims to provide a comprehensive listing of systematic reviews registered at inception to help avoid unplanned duplication and enable comparison of reported review methods with what was planned in the protocol.

The development and ongoing management of PROSPERO is supported by CRD’s core work programme which is funded by the National Institute for Health Research, England; the Department of Health, Public Health Agency, Northern Ireland and the National Institute for Social Care and Health Research, Welsh Government