Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Key Subject Resources
These are just some of the resources available from the Library. Links to other subject-specific resources; and subject-relevant, multi-disciplinary resources; can be found on the other tabs of this English Subject Libguide. All electronic resources can be accessed off-campus through the University's VPN service called Global Protect. Further information on how to connect to the University's VPN using Global Protect can be found here.
Gale Literary Sources
Literary Sources brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways. Further Information
The Literary Encyclopedia is a constantly evolving and updating repository of authoritative reference work about literary and cultural history. All of the articles are solicited by invitation from specialist scholars in higher education institutions all over the world, refereed and approved by subject editors in the Editorial Board.
Literature Online is the leading online resource for the study and teaching of literature in English. It is a fully integrated service that combines the texts of over 355,000 literary works with a vast library of key criticism and reference resources.
MLA International Bibliography
This database includes information about scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics. The electronic version includes the Bibliography's entire print run and currently contains more than 2 million records. Not all records have full text available online.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography includes over 60,000 biographies, 72 million words, and 11,000 portraits of significant, influential or notorious figures who shaped British history.
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content. It includes ebooks and journals.
ProQuest One Literature
ProQuest One Literature gives faculty and students access to millions of sources, including: more than 3 million literary criticism citations, 14,000 dissertations, 20,000 ebooks, 1,300 videos, 1,200 full-text journals and 500,000 primary texts written by authors from more than 65 nations.
Your Engagement Librarian
Name: Michael Latham