Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American National Biography
The American National Biography offers scholarly biographies of more than 19,000 renowned American men & women, from all eras and walks of life, reflecting the rich diversity of American life from pre-colonial times to the present day.
Cambridge Companions to Music
Cambridge Companions to Music provide clear and accessible information on composers, instruments or musical topics. Each volume provides specially-commissioned essays by leading authorities offering comprehensive coverage of the topic.
Grove Music Online
Grove Music Online is the authoritative resource for music research with over 52,000 articles written by nearly 9,000 scholars charting the diverse history, theory and cultures of music around the globe. Based on a work first published in 1879 and updated frequently, Grove has been in continuous publication for over a century and now publishes hundreds of new articles and article revisions each year
Oxford Bibliographies: Music
Oxford Bibliographies are authoritative research guides which combine the features of an annotated bibliography and an encyclopedia. A good introduction to researching a particular topic.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography includes over 60,000 biographies, 72 million words, and 11,000 portraits of significant, influential or notorious figures who shaped British history.
Oxford Music Online
Online music encyclopaedia, including the Grove Dictionary of Music, which provides extensive coverage of all aspects of music.
The resource offers a huge range of fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, including detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions series...more info
The Handbook series contains in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field. Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research.
Music Theses & Dissertations
Theses and Dissertations
Proquest Dissertations & Theses Global
The world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses.
Click 'login' for on campus access. For access off campus, click 'login', enter 'University of Southampton' in the institutional field followed by your institutional username and password.
University of Southampton PhD/ MPhil theses
University of Southampton Undergraduate / Masters dissertations
- a limited number of undergraduate dissertations are held on Blackboard under the Research Project module code
- for Masters and further examples of undergraduate dissertations students should ask enquire at the Faculty Office or discuss with their supervisor