It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Box of Broadcasts - over 1 million programmes available online
Box of Broadcasts is an online off-air TV and radio recording service which enables you to choose and record any broadcast programme from 60+ Freeview channels. All programmes are then kept indefinitely and added to a growing media archive (currently at over 1 million programmes), with all content shared by users across other UK universities. You can create clips to use in presentations and compile playlists of your favourite programmes to share with others.
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 62,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) in Academic Video Online makes it a useful resource for all types of patrons, giving libraries a high return on investment.
The Archives includes 39 documentaries from the BFI National Archive and BBC Archive for creative reuse by student filmmakers on course-related projects in universities across the UK. Please note the collection will be available until August 2020 (under the terms of the licence). Further information
Provides access to over 2,000 non-fiction film and television titles from the 20th century to the early 21st. Videos include films, newsreels, TV documentaries, interviews, party political broadcasts and parliamentary debates which are provided alongside expert essays, commentary and other supporting documents. Access to free content only.
An off-air recording and media archive service that allows you to record TV and radio programmes scheduled for broadcast over the next seven days as well as retrieving programmes from the last seven days from a selected list of channels. In addition, you can watch programmes from the archive, create clips, and compile your favourite shows into playlists. Further information Due to E.U legislation, any UK registered students in the EU will not be able to access BoB (apart from the BBC News Channel* ) from 1st January 2021. We will post updates as and when we get them.
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform for public libraries and universities that offers films and documentaries.The service includes features such as captions, transcripts, clip creation, and playlist creation that allow users to share videos. In order to use the app you must first set up a personal account using a desktop computer browser. Please use your university email address to sign up
In order to use the app you must first set up a personal account using a desktop computer browser. Please use your university email address to sign up
An online encyclopaedia of British film and television featuring hundreds of hours of film and television clips from the vast collections of the British Film Institute National Archive, and several hours of recorded interviews with film and TV personalities. These clips are supplemented by contextual material from expert writers and thousands of stills, posters and press books.
**Please note that video clips are currently unavailable (March 2020)**