LibGuides@Southampton: Psychology: Databases

Useful links

	Find your resources using Library Search
	Access your Reading Lists
	Academic Skills
	Library Research Services
	Institutional Repository (ePrints Soton)
	Contact Us

Key Databases

If you're looking for journal articles, these are some of the key databases you'll need. You can see the full list of databases on our Database page.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The key database for psychology and related subjects. Contains references and abstracts for scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations, some dating back to the 1600s. The full-text is available for some journal articles. Where there is no full-text link, click on the Full Text Finder link to check for full-text.
Provided by the American Psychological Association’s (APA). The largest database of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Covers related subjects including medicine, law, neuroscience, business, human resource management, nursing, forensics, criminology, engineering, sociology and gerontology. Includes about 2500 journals, in many languages, from 1800s to present (including all articles from PsycARTICLES).
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to a substantial portion of the most frequently cited journals in the CINAHL index, surpassing other databases. Providing 1,815 active full-text journals, that cover over 50 nursing specialties. CINAHL Ultimate also includes instructional videos to help nursing students and nurses learn about specific techniques and enhance their knowledge of procedures and best practices for care.
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EMBASE is a leading clinical medicine and biomedical database, with particular strengths in drugs, toxicology, biotechnology, health affairs and forensic medicine. EMBASE includes all MEDLINE records, plus several million of its own - giving it rather better coverage of the literature in topics such as pharmaceuticals and of the European literature in general.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. You may not be able to access the full text of all of the results you find in ERIC.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the world's best-known medicine and clinical science database, covering literature from around the world since 1946. It has a comprehensive set of controlled vocabulary called Medical Subject Headings (MeSH terms). MEDLINE is also available free on the web as PubMed.
The database contains more than 21.6 million records from 5,582 selected publications covering biomedicine and health from 1950 to the present. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, the MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE provides information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, as well as coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
SCIELO This link opens in a new window
Free OA bibliographic database covering scientific literature from Latin America, Portugal, Spain and South Africa
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides references, and in many cases abstracts, for peer-reviewed scholarly journal articles in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. Includes the Science Citation Index Expanded (1970-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1970-present) and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present). Also provides citation data and references to books and conference papers. Click on the Full Text Finder links to check for full-text.
Our access to WOS now includes the 'Emerging Sources Citations Index: 2005-present'. Journals included in ESCI cover all disciplines and range from international and broad scope publications to those that provide deeper regional or speciality area coverage.
Global Index Medicus This link opens in a new window
The Global Index Medicus provides universal access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries - contains all five WHO Regional Indexes; African, Eastern Mediterranean, South East Asia Region, Latin America and Caribbean and Western Pacific.

Psychology: Databases

Useful links

Key Databases

Chat with us