LibGuides@Southampton: Students based at Singapore Institute of Management (SIM): Databases

Before you start

To access library resources you will need to connect to the University’s VPN service called Global Protect. Further information on how to connect to the University’s VPN using Global Protect can be found here.

You can connect to VPN from SIM, at home or from anywhere with an Internet connection.

Marketing Information

WARC (for SIM)
Marketing information including case studies, articles, best practice guides, market intelligence and advertising data.

Market Research

Passport (Euromonitor International)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides statistics and in depth reports on companies, industries and countries worldwide. Includes consumer trends, demographic data, socioeconomic data, macroeconomic data and global reports.

Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
UK market research reports covering business finance, business technology, business healthcare, leisure, clothing and footwear retail, retail banking and e-commerce.

News

Financial Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Financial Times website. Provides FT articles, in-depth 'Special Reports', facsimile of the newspaper from 2005 onwards, and company and financial information.
Please note: Creating an account is no longer necessary. If you have previously created an account you need to open this link in an incognito window, which will then take you directly to the sign-up page.
You will then be able to sign-up with their university login details.
http://ft.com/UniSouthampton copy and paste this link

How to log in to Nexis ® UK
To use Nexis ® UK you will need to log in using your University of Southampton username and password. Please follow these instructions.

Company Information

Fame This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Detailed information about UK and Irish companies for the last 10 years, including publicly listed and private companies.
We are aware of an issue with Chrome and the Fame database. For now, we suggest using Edge or Firefox. If you still wish to use Chrome, please try the following steps:

1. In Chrome, enter chrome://flags/#use-sha1-server-handshakes in the address and press Enter
2. If Allow SHA-1 server signatures in TLS is set to disabled, change it to Default (if that doesn't work set it to enable)
3. Relaunch Chrome and try accessing it again
4. If it still does not work, change it to Allowed, relaunch Chrome and try again

You must log in with your SUSSED username and password both on campus and off campus. Fame can be used to research individual companies or find a group of companies that fit a specific profile and analyse them. Fame includes: Company financials, in detailed format, with up to 10 years of history; Financial strength indicators; Directors and contacts; Original filings/images as filed at Companies House and the Companies Registration Office in Ireland; Stock data for listed companies; Detailed corporate structures and the corporate family; Shareholders and subsidiaries; Industry research; Adverse filings; Business and company-related news; M&A deals and rumours
Financial Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Financial Times website. Provides FT articles, in-depth 'Special Reports', facsimile of the newspaper from 2005 onwards, and company and financial information.
Please note: Creating an account is no longer necessary. If you have previously created an account you need to open this link in an incognito window, which will then take you directly to the sign-up page.
You will then be able to sign-up with their university login details.
http://ft.com/UniSouthampton copy and paste this link

How to log in to Nexis ® UK
To use Nexis ® UK you will need to log in using your University of Southampton username and password. Please follow these instructions.

Help Guides

For further help, click on the green ? icon next to the database name.

More Help

For help, please ask at the Tay Eng Soon Library, SIM.

Tel: (65) 6248 9601

Email: libenq@sim.edu.sg