LibGuides@Southampton: Business, Accounting, Finance, Management & Marketing: Economic & Social Data

Will I need a password?

To access library resources you will need to connect to the University’s VPN service called Global Protect. Further information on how to connect to the University’s VPN using Global Protect can be found here.

Mapping Data

Free Mapping Online
A tool that allows you to create maps of China and the USA. It includes population, economic, industry and land use data. Provided by the Spatial Data Center and China Data Center, University of Michigan.

Economic & Social Data

Passport (Euromonitor International)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides statistics and in depth reports on companies, industries and countries worldwide. Includes consumer trends, demographic data, socioeconomic data, macroeconomic data and global reports.

International macro databanks (UK Data Service) This link opens in a new window
Country-level social and economic data, including that from the EU, OECD, IMF and World Bank, dating back to 1960. For developing countries see, in particular, the World Bank’s World Development Indicators. You can search the data using 'Discover'.
You must register and login with your Institutional (SUSSED) login before you can access data .
China Data Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Economic and social statistics for China. Provides comprehensive information on China’s economic development at national, provincial, city, county and industrial levels. Also provides a unique collection of various Census data at province, city, county and township levels of Mainland China. VPN is required off campus.
OECD Economic Surveys This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In-depth reviews of the economies of Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) member countries and selected non-Member countries. Each report provides an analysis of developments in the subject country, special reports on topics of current interest and statistical information.
VPN required off campus.
FitchConnect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Detailed information, including financial statements, ratios and credit ratings for over 30,000 banks worldwide. Data is available for the last 10 years. It also includes economic data and credit ratings for countries, and bonds and securities for banks. We do not have access to data for insurance companies. WORKS BEST IN GOOGLE CHROME
To sign in, please click on the SSO tab and use institution code 'UOS'
Up to 30 years of data is available via the Excel Add-in but this is complex to use. For details, click on the tutorial icon above.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
The OECD iLibrary offers insightful content across 17 thematic collections. The content includes thousands of e-books, chapters, tables and graphs, papers, articles, summaries, indicators and databases - discoverable by theme, country or content type. Every year around 500 new titles are published via OECD iLibrary.
The collection now includes over 70 podcasts, available to stream online, or download as an MP3. New episodes appear regularly, each accompanied by a complete transcript in PDF.

The Library's Finding Data and Statistics Guide

For more data sources, go to the Library's Finding Data and Statistics guide.

British Official Publications

The Library Digitisation Unit has digitised and made available online a number of 'non-parliamentary' texts at the request of Roy Edwards (School of Management.)

These are made available in a collection on InternetArchive at: https://archive.org/details/bopcris?and%5B%5D=transport&sort=&page=3