LibGuides@Southampton: Business, Accounting, Finance, Management & Marketing: News & Current Affairs

Latest News from FT.com

You can get full access to FT.com by clicking on 'FT.com (Financial Times)' to the right.

Will I need a password?

To access library resources you will need to connect to the University’s VPN service called Global Protect. Further information on how to connect to the University’s VPN using Global Protect can be found here.

News and Current Affairs

ABYZ News Links
The free website ABYZ News Links gives links to broadcast, print and internet news sources from around the world.

Financial Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Financial Times website. Provides FT articles, in-depth 'Special Reports', facsimile of the newspaper from 2005 onwards, and company and financial information.
Please note: Creating an account is no longer necessary. If you have previously created an account you need to open this link in an incognito window, which will then take you directly to the sign-up page.
You will then be able to sign-up with their university login details.
http://ft.com/UniSouthampton copy and paste this link
Gale OneFile News This link opens in a new window
You can access current UK newspapers such as the Guardian, Independent, Independent on Sunday and Observer from 1985 onwards.
Financial Times Historical Archive (1888-2016) This link opens in a new window
The Financial Times Historical Archive is a searchable, online, facsimile version of the Financial Times newspaper. It includes every article and advertisement printed in the newspaper, since it was first published in 1888 until 2016. You can either search for an article or browse the newspaper page by page.

The Economist

Gale This link opens in a new window
Access the full text of The Economist 1988 - present via Gale:
- One File
- Advanced Search
- Publication Search
N.B. The Economist 1988 - present via Gale is a HTML version of the content, not a scanned facsimile. This means that figures, diagrams and photos from the original print content are not available via this resource.

FT.com Careers mini site

FT.com has created a new Careers mini site which contains features on how to boost employability and get ahead at work.

This can be found at https://www.ft.com/career (you will need to have set up a subscription within FT.com to be able to access content. To set up a subscription go to FT.com and complete the steps to subscribe.)

The Careers mini site includes topics such as ‘how to build an unconventional career’ & ‘how to be productive’.