LibGuides@Southampton: Law: Databases

Will I need a password?

To access library resources you will need to connect to the University’s VPN service called Global Protect. Further information on how to connect to the University’s VPN using Global Protect can be found here.

Core Databases for Legal Research

BIMCO: Baltic and International Maritime Council This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
i-law This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Lawtel This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Exclusive content includes the “official” law reports published by the Incorporated Council of Law Reporting (ICLR).
vLex Justis This link opens in a new window

Other Databases for Legal Research (Secondary Sources)

Use these databases to find secondary sources such as book chapters, journal articles and other legal commentary not available in full text in the core law databases.

Library Search This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
IBSS - International Bibliography of The Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IBSS has particular strengths in politics, economics, sociology and anthropology. Click on the TDNet links to check for full-text. No password on campus. Off campus VPN or Institutional login.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The database contains more than 21.6 million records from 5,582 selected publications covering biomedicine and health from 1950 to the present. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, the MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE provides information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, as well as coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
No password on campus. Off campus Institutional login
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Proquest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Proquest: Research Companion This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provided by the American Psychological Association’s (APA). The largest database of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Covers related subjects including medicine, law, neuroscience, business, human resource management, nursing, forensics, criminology, engineering, sociology and gerontology. Includes about 2500 journals, in many languages, from 1800s to present (including all articles from PsycARTICLES).
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
No password on campus. Off campus Institutional login
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Law Electronic Resources
Provides more detail about e-resources, including both subscription and free services.

Primary Sources

Empire Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
European Sources Online This link opens in a new window
Gale Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
17th & 18th Burney Collection
19th Century UK Periodicals
Archives Unbound
British Library Newspapers
The Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2010
Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2003
Independent Digital Archive 1986-2016
Sunday times Digital Archive 1822-2006
The Economist Historical Archive
Times Digital Archive 1785-2011
Times Literary Supplement Digital Archive 1902-2012
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (1688-2009/10) This link opens in a new window
Nexis This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Public Information Online This link opens in a new window
United Nations Treaty Collection Online This link opens in a new window
Texts are in the authentic language and translated into French and English as appropriate. Treaty research can be difficult, so do take advantage of the 'overview' web pages provided, which include FAQs and definitions.