The Hartley Library approaching from the Highfield Travel Interchange looking to the north east. During term time the Hartley Library is open 24/7.
This tour provides an overview of the library facilities and collections. Our campus map has a detailed map of the Hartley Library.
The Library has five levels, with the entrance on Level 2. To your left is the Library Help Desk, where you will find a friendly team of library staff who are able to offer advice on finding resources and provide answers to enquiries. You can also borrow a variety of items including books, and computer peripherals.
Positioned behind the Help Desk is the ‘Click and Collect’ area. The ‘Click and Collect’ service is for staff and students to request books when they are away from the library and then collect them at their convenience.
To the right of the Help Desk are self-service machines for borrowing, returning, renewing books and checking your account. In this area you will also find our self-service laptop loans. Laptops are available to loan for 7 days on and off campus. This service includes the loan of a laptop bag and charger, which are available from the Library Help Desk. There is another laptop loan area on Level 4.
Opposite to the Library Help Desk is the Tech Hub, where staff provide face-to-face help 09:00-17:00 Monday-Friday. The team are here to support a wide range of services including university computers, software and applications, user accounts and more.
As you enter the Library the Café area is on your right, including microwaves and hot and cold water dispensers. You are welcome to bring hot and cold drinks with lids and eat cold food at your study space in the Hartley. There are water dispensers on all levels.
From the entrance, just past the Tech Hub you will find the Academic Skills Hub which offers a drop-in service 10:00-16:00 Monday-Friday. The team offer guidance and advice for a variety of topics including academic integrity, study skills, writing skills and maths and statistics support.
Next door to the Academic Skills Hub is the Assistive Technology Suite (ATS). This space includes computers with assistance software, scanner, printers and other assistive tools.
Opposite the Academic Skills Hub is the Print Room where you can print, photocopy and scan your work. There are also printer/scanners on each level.
Computer workstations are available throughout the library, and on Level 4 there are lockers available for students to use during their visit to the library.
There are over 2,000 study spaces available at the Hartley Library. Individual study spaces exist throughout the library and group study rooms are available on Levels 1,3 and 5. Study areas are signed as either silent, quiet or for groups.
On Level 4 at the end of the corridor there are two large training rooms, available as additional study space, where students can choose to use Library PCs or bring their own devices for learning.
On Level 1 the print collection includes the main journal stock and Education books.
On Level 3 the print collection includes Law, Social Sciences, Business, Engineering and Computing. Our Academic Skills Collection, available on this level, holds a collection of books to help with developing skills such as critical thinking, academic writing, making notes, effective reading skills and giving presentations.
On Level 4 the print collection includes History and Archaeology. Archives and Special Collections can be found on Level 4. Archive collections include the papers of the Duke of Wellington and the Broadlands Archives (Lords Palmerston and Mountbatten). Printed collections include the Parkes Library and the Cope Collection.
On Level 5 the print collection includes Literature, Film and Music.