LibGuides@Southampton: Education: Databases

How Do I Know If You Have It?

Found a good article? Now you need to know whether you can get the full text.

If you've run a database search, the article's record may have a "Full Text" or "PDF" link - that's great: click to get the full text. If not, look out for the Full Text Finder icon - click this to find out if we have access to the journal.

Key resources

ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. You may not be able to access the full text of all of the results you find in ERIC.
IBSS - International Bibliography of The Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides references and, in many cases, abstracts for journal articles, books and book chapters in the social sciences, from 1951 to current.
IBSS has particular strengths in politics, economics, sociology and anthropology. Click on the TDNet links to check for full-text. No password on campus. Off campus VPN or Institutional login.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. The database includes journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers. You may not have online access to everything you find in the database.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database includes information about scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics. The electronic version includes the Bibliography's entire print run and currently contains more than 2 million records. Not all records have full text available online.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The key database for psychology and related subjects. Contains references and abstracts for scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations, some dating back to the 1600s. The full-text is available for some journal articles. Where there is no full-text link, click on the Full Text Finder link to check for full-text.
Provided by the American Psychological Association’s (APA). The largest database of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Covers related subjects including medicine, law, neuroscience, business, human resource management, nursing, forensics, criminology, engineering, sociology and gerontology. Includes about 2500 journals, in many languages, from 1800s to present (including all articles from PsycARTICLES).
Education Magazine Archive (1910 - 2015) This link opens in a new window
An archive of magazines in the field of education, ranging from the early 20th to 21st centuries. The publications are aimed at teachers and other educational professionals and constitute valuable primary sources through which the evolution of educational policy, practice, and theory during this period may be delineated and interpreted.
Education in Video This link opens in a new window
A video collection covering training and education, includes classroom footage.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides references, and in many cases abstracts, for peer-reviewed scholarly journal articles in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. Includes the Science Citation Index Expanded (1970-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1970-present) and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present). Also provides citation data and references to books and conference papers. Click on the Full Text Finder links to check for full-text.
Our access to WOS now includes the 'Emerging Sources Citations Index: 2005-present'. Journals included in ESCI cover all disciplines and range from international and broad scope publications to those that provide deeper regional or speciality area coverage.
Australian Education Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Australian Education Index is a comprehensive collection of educational research documents relating to educational trends, policy, and practices. The database is Australia's largest source of education information. Coverage includes trends and practices in teaching, learning and educational management. You may not be able to access the full text of all of the results you find in ERIC. Coverage: 1977 - current.
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies offers authoritative research guides across a variety of subject areas with articles written by over 6,000 scholars from around the globe. Subjects include; Art History, British and Irish Literature, Cinema & Media, Chinese Studies, Education, Environmental Science, International Law, Jewish Studies, Linguistics, Management Studies, Music and Psychology

No Full Text?

Important article? Can't get the full text? Try our Inter-Library Loans service...

Off-Campus Access

Accessing library resources from home

To connect to library resources such as databases and journals you will need to use the University’s VPN service called Globalprotect. Advice on how to set your connection up can be found on the iSolutions page How do I set up VPN on my device?