Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Cope Collection, Special Collections, Hartley Library: Illustrations

The Cope Collection includes books, pamphlets, journals, prints, photographs and postcards on all aspects of life in Hampshire and the Isle of Wight.

Using the lllustrations

All Cope Illustrations are stored in the Rare Books area and are fetched for use in the Archives and Rare Books Search Room which is open Tuesday-Thursday 1000-1600. All visits are by prior appointment and all visitors will be required to book their visit and to order their material at least 1 working day in advance. 

Bookings are made by emailing Archives@soton.ac.uk providing details of name, University ID number (members of the University of Southampton only), permanent residential address and contact details, date of visit and list of items to be consulted.

Cope Illustrations

The illustrations in the Cope Collection include prints collected by Sir William Cope and photographs and postcards subsequently added to the collection. Topographical in nature, they provide an important visual record of the county.  

Prints – around 2,700 18th and 19th century prints of Hampshire and the Isle of Wight, many pasted into seven large albums. They show antiquities, country houses, picturesque scenery and views of individual towns and villages.

Photographs - over 3,500 photographs covering Hampshire and the Isle of Wight, with a large proportion on Southampton and the docks. Most date from the first half of the 20th century or from the 1980s.

Postcards -  the Cope postcards consist of around 1,000 postcards of Hampshire and the Isle of Wight. Most are view cards, dating from the early years of the 20th century.  The Peter Cook postcards are a collection of over 3,000 postcards of Southampton. It includes view cards and also examples of early cards from the late 19th century, souvenir, trade and humorous cards.

Cope Collection Illustrations

Entrance to Carisbrooke Castle (Cope postcard)

Above Bar, Southampton (Peter Cook postcard)

Cross House, Southampton (Peter Cook postcards)

Cowes Terrace (Cope postcard)

Freshwater Bay (Cope prints)

Southampton from the west (Cope prints)

Froghill, Isle of Wight (Cope prints)

Southampton Docks (Cope prints)

Portchester Castle and Barracks (Cope prints)

Bargate, Southampton (Cope prints)

Winchester Cathedral (Cope prints)

Titchfield House (Cope prints)

Online Resources