Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Visitors: Home

Information for visitors at one of the University of Southampton libraries

Recognising the strong links between the University and the local community, members of the public are welcome to visit and use the University Library free of charge on a reference basis. As well as extensive collections of books and journals the library hosts a number of exhibitions through the year and has a number of interesting architectural features.

Visiting the Library

You are welcome to make use of any of the books and journals available in the library, there are specific access or membership arrangements in place for various visitor categories, details in the pages linked below. You can check our Library catalogue to locate the items you need.

Visiting the Archives

You are welcome to come and use material from the archives and special collections. You will need to book an appointment to visit Special Collections located at Hartley Library. Please check our website for more information on how to book an appointment.

Access to the Archive at the National Oceanography Library (NOL) is not permitted. You will need to book an appointment at least 24 hours in advance to visit the library and request material. The requested material will then be brought to you in the library.

We are happy to help with any enquiries relating to our collections. Please email us - libenqs@soton.ac.uk, providing as much information about your enquiry as possible – the more we know, the easier it is for us to help.

Visitor category Free use of Hartley Free   use of   WSA Free   use of   HSL

Free   use of   NOL

(advanced booking required)

Reference only Borrowing privileges Photo-  copying
Member of public – without links to an educational establishment
SCONUL – staff and students from institutions participating in the SCONUL access scheme Excluding band R
Under 18s 
Alumni – anyone who has graduated from or worked at the University of Southampton
Commercial organisations – businesses requiring Library membership *charges apply*

 

General public. Members of the public are welcome to visit our libraries.  However, please be aware that if you wish to visit National Oceanographic Library (NOL), you will need to request an appointment.  Please contact NOL by email - nol@soton.ac.uk.

Facilities

Print resources
Reference access to the print collection is free.

Electronic resources

You are welcome to browse the library catalogue

Due to licence restrictions, only current members of the University have access to electronic resources.

Photocopying
Self-service photocopying facilities are available. You can create a personal photocopying account and add credit to it by visiting our MyPrint page and following the instructions.  

Power sockets for laptops
Most study desks have standard electric sockets and international plug adapters for laptop use.

Wi-Fi
A guest wi-fi service is available.

 

SCONUL Access is a scheme which allows many university library users to borrow or use books and journals at other libraries which belong to the scheme. The scheme covers most of the university libraries in the UK and Ireland.

When visiting for the first time, please ensure you have your institutional SCONUL email and ID.

Please note that BAND R (full time undergraduates) are unable to borrow material under the SCONUL Access scheme.

SCONUL members are welcome to visit all of our libraries.  However, please be aware that if you wish to visit National Oceanographic Library (NOL), you will need to request an appointment.  Please contact NOL by email - nol@soton.ac.uk.

Facilities

Print resources
Access to the print collection is free and you are entitled to borrow 10 items from our long loan and one week loan stock. Full time undergraduates are unable to borrow on the SCONUL scheme.

Electronic resources

You are welcome to browse Library Search, the library catalogue. 

You can access the full range of your home library resources by logging in to Eduroam using your full university email and password.  Unfortunately, you are unable to access the University of Southampton electronic resources.  

Photocopying
Self-service photocopying facilities are available. You can create a personal photocopying account and add credit to it by visiting our MyPrint page and following the instructions.  

Power sockets for laptops
Most study desks have standard electric sockets and international plug adapters for laptop use.

Wi-Fi
A guest wi-fi service is available as well as Eduroam.

If you are under 18, you will not be able to join the library.  However, you are very welcome to sign in as a visitor and use the reference resources.

Children under 16 years of age need to be accompanied by an adult.

For extended project A-level students in Ocean related studies there is a brief guide to sources of information to help you with your academic studies available online. This guide lists resources which are freely available. You may access these before you visit the library so you can begin researching your subject while still at home.

Facilities

Library catalogue
The Library catalogue is available via the Internet for you to check the location of library materials and can be consulted in advance of a planned visit.

Print resources
Reference access to the print collection is free.

Electronic resources
E-resource access is only available for full members of University of Southampton.

Photocopying
Self-service photocopying facilities are available. Charges apply.

Room bookings
You are unable to book any rooms in the library.

Printing
There are no printing services available to visitors at the Library.

Power sockets for laptops
Most study desks have standard electric sockets and international plug adapters for laptop use.

Wi-Fi
A guest wi-fi service is available.

 

As a member of the University of Southampton Alumni Society, you have access to the services and facilities of the Library. Full details of what the University offers are available from the Alumni website including information on how to order your Alumni ID Card.

Facilities

Print resources
Access to the print collection is free and you are entitled to borrow ten items from our long loan and one week loan stock.

Electronic resources
Due to licence restrictions, only current full members of the University have full access to electronic services, other than the Library catalogue

Photocopying
Self-service photocopying facilities are available. Charges apply.

Room Bookings
You will not be able to book any room. 

Printing
There are no printing services available to visitors at the Library.

Power sockets for laptops
Most study desks have standard electric sockets and international plug adapters for laptop use.

Wi-Fi
A guest wi-fi service is available.

 

Commercial organisations wishing to use the library located at the National Oceanographic Centre will be required to pay a £30.00 + VAT daily charge. If you wish to visit the library to use the collections you will need to make an appointment in advance by telephone or email. When visiting please ensure you have proof of ID.

Facilities

Print resources
Reference access to the print collection is free.

Electronic resources
E-resource access is not available for commercial organisations.

Photocopying
Self-service photocopying facilities are not available.

Printing
There are no printing services available to visitors at the Library.

Power sockets for laptops
Most study desks have standard electric sockets and international plug adapters for laptop use.

Wi-Fi
A guest wi-fi service is available.