Training and Workshops - Academic Writing: Home

Please use the white buttons below to filter by particular skill.

Goal Setting for Academic Writing

This learning sequence will help you with the why, what and how of crafting effective mini-goals to keep your writing projects on track, whether an essay for a module or your degree's final dissertation/thesis. It includes a series of short videos, text recaps of key ideas, and quick activities. This resource may be especially useful if you are struggling with writing procrastination, perfectionism, or time management.

The Basics of Structure

This webinar covers the essentials of structure: structuring clear and coherent paragraphs, writing effective topic sentences and understanding paragraphs as building blocks. This is a Panopto recording of a live webinar.

Critical Writing

This webinar covers the essentials of critical writing: defining critical analysis, establishing the different types of analysis and how to deepen criticality through your writing. This is a Panopto recording of a live webinar.

Refine Your Writing: Better Proofreading

This self-paced learning sequence demonstrates a range of effective strategies you can use to proofread your writing, whether you are polishing up a cover letter or preparing to submit your thesis.

Writing Abstracts

This video covers the essentials of writing an abstract: understanding their purpose in the researching process, their structure and constraints, and how they vary in style and by discipline.

Writing Introductions and Conclusions

This webinar covers the essentials of writing effective introductions and conclusions: how to structure them, what to include, and not include, and the symbiotic relationship between the two. This is a Panopto recording of a live webinar.

Writing the Dissertation: Dissertation Q&A

This video answers those burning questions about the dissertation, such as how to structure an introduction, how many references should be included in the literature review and the difference between the results and discussion.

Writing the Dissertation: the Introduction and Conclusion

This webinar covers the essentials of writing the introduction and conclusion of a dissertation, or extended piece of writing: how to structure both chapters, or sections, what to include, and not include, and the symbiotic relationship between the two. This is a recording of a live webinar.

Writing the Dissertation: the Literature Review

This webinar covers the essentials of writing a literature review chapter, or section, for a dissertation, or extended piece of writing: the conventions of a literature review, structural approaches and synthesis and techniques for managing a range of information. This is a recording of a live webinar.

Writing the Dissertation: the Methods or Methodology

This webinar covers the essentials of writing a methods or methodology chapter for a dissertation, or extended piece of writing: the difference between the methods and methodology, what's expected and practical ways of structuring the chapter in a clear and coherent way. This is a recording of a live webinar.

Writing the Dissertation: the Results and Discussion

This webinar covers the essentials of writing the results and discussion chapters, or chapter, for a dissertation, or an extended piece of writing: understanding the overarching purpose of both chapters, or sections, in the context of the dissertation, defining the difference, and relationship, between the results and discussion and establishing a structural template for the discussion. This is a recording of a live webinar.