LibGuides@Southampton: Engineering: Theses and Dissertations

Theses and Dissertations

Use a database to search for references to theses.

EThOS: e-theses online service This link opens in a new window
CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE DUE TO BRITISH LIBRARY CYBER ATTACK
The UK’s national thesis service provided by the British Library. You can search for theses submitted to UK institutions. Note that abstracts are not included for all theses. Full text is available if the thesis has been digitised.
Proquest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses.
Click 'login' for on campus access. For access off campus, click 'login', enter 'University of Southampton' in the institutional field followed by your institutional username and password.
DART-Europe E-theses Portal This link opens in a new window
DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia to improve global access to European research theses. There is access to over one million full-text research theses from 570 Universities sourced from 29 European countries. No password required.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services including theses and dissertations from over 70,000 library catalogues worldwide. It lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. You may also find article citations with links to their full text; authoritative research materials, such as documents and photos of local or historic significance; and digital versions of rare items that aren't available to the public.
No password required.

To search for theses or dissertations, go to the Advanced Search and select 'Thesis/dissertations' under 'Content'.

University of Southampton (UofS) PhD/ MPhil theses

the online collection of PhD and MPhil theses are listed and available on the Library's Catalogue. Some theses are available in full-text electronically on ePrints Soton
the Library holds print copies of UofS doctoral level theses that are not available electronically; these are not publicly accessible but are also listed on the Library Catalogue and can be requested for use during Library opening hours only
more details about finding theses are available on the Research Services LibGuide

University of Southampton Undergraduate / Masters dissertations

a limited number of undergraduate dissertations are held on Blackboard under the Research Project module code
for Masters and further examples of undergraduate dissertations students should ask enquire at the Faculty Office or discuss with their supervisor

Can't Find What You're Looking For?

Books

If the University doesn't have the book you need, you can use Library Search to suggest a book

Journal articles

To connect to library resources such as databases and journals you will need to use the University’s VPN service called Globalprotect. Advice on how to set your connection up can be found on the iSolutions page How do I set up VPN on my device?
Unpaywall, Open Access Button and CORE Discovery are all Chrome and Firefox extensions that find legal open access copies. Open Access Helper works the same way for iOS and Safari
Kopernio a Chrome extension that finds articles from our library subscriptions and open access versions
Google: if you find an article that is behind a paywall, try copy & pasting the article title into a search engine. If there is a copy in a repository it will often display on the first page of search results
Still no luck? Try our i nterlibrary loan service. We will try our best to get hold of articles for you, although it may not be possible or be delayed while libraries are closed

PhD/ MPhil theses

the library holds print copies of all University of Southampton doctoral level theses; these are listed on L ibrary Search
many of these are now also available online from ePrints Soton

Undergraduate/ taught masters dissertations

The Library does not normally hold undergraduate or taught masters dissertations