Using Databases |
|
| Duration: | 10 mins Recorded | Start Training |
This short recording will help you to identify suitable databases for your assignments, and develop a search strategy. Using the database CINAHL, you will learn how to use Boolean operators and syntax to create an effective search.
| Duration: | 27 mins Recorded | Start Training |
This short recording will help you understand how to find Subject Headings (MESH) to help improve your search strategy using the CINAHL database. Please view the Basic recording first.
(University of Southampton Content)
| Duration: | 4 mins | Start Training |
Need help keeping up to date with information? By the end of this tutorial you should be able to save your searches and set alerts.
(University of Southampton Content)
| Duration: | 16 mins | Start Training |
By the end of this activity you should should be able to:
-explain what a search strategy is
-idenfity key concepts and key words in a search question
-use search tools and techniques, such as Boolean operators, phrase searching and wildcards
Was this training useful to your studies?
(University of Southampton Content)
| Duration: | 6 mins | Start Training |
This tutorial takes you through some additional tools which will help you to develop your searching skills. It covers subject heading, thesaurus searching and citation searching.
| Start Training |
FAQs on how to search and access the full text of all current British Standards and many international standards (e.g. ISOs/IECs).
| Start Training |
A set of video guides which take you through the basics of using this off-air recording and media archive service.
| Start Training |
Available through CINAHL's platform provider EBSCO, these video guides demonstrate basic and advanced search techniques. CINAHL provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to midwifery, nursing, occupational therapy, physiotherapy, podiatry, health education and other related subject areas
| Duration: | 4 Mins | Start Training |
Watch the 'Get started with Compendex' video for help with finding the latest engineering information across electrical, chemical, civil, mechanical, mining and other cross-disciplinary areas. Also, take a look at the tutorials on using Engineering Village as this shares the same platform as Compendex.
| Start Training |
Guides to help you find and download data. Datastream provides financial and economic data for countries and companies worldwide, including equities, market indices, company accounts, macroeconomics, bonds, foreign exchange, interest rates, commodities and derivatives. The earliest data is from 1950. Only covers publicly listed companies.
| Duration: | 22 mins | Start Training |
Online presentation which provides an introduction to using EMBASE, a leading clinical medicine and biomedical database. This is divided into sections so you can jump straight to the feature you want to learn about without going through the whole presentation.
| Start Training |
Introductory videos, search tips and other guidance on how to use this database. ERIC is the world's most widely used index to educational-related literature.
| Start Training |
A series of video tutorials which provide tips and techniques for using IEEE Xplore. IEEE Xplore provides full text access to all IET and IEEE journals and conferences since 1988 and all current IEEE standards.
| Start Training |
|
PDF guides which describe how to use Lexis Library. In addition to reports and legislation, Lexis Library searches for journals, and the full-text of Halsbury’s Statutes and Halsbury’s Laws. We also subscribe to the Lexis Tax Reference Library, which contains a collection of specialist reports, journals and other materials. Access this via Lexis Library ‘Practice Areas’ tab.
| Start Training |
|
Available through MEDLINE's platform provider EBSCO, these video guides demonstrate basic and advanced search techniques. MEDLINE covers literature from around the world since 1946. It has a comprehensive set of controlled vocabulary called Medical Subject Headings (MeSH terms).
| Duration: | 19 mins | Start Training |
Online presentation which provides an introduction to using MEDLINE, the world's best-known medicine and clinical science database, covering literature from around the world since 1946. Med has a comprehensive set of controlled vocabulary called Medical Subject Headings (MeSH terms)
| Start Training |
|
Tutorials which show you how to use the key features of Nexis. Nexis offers Full text access to newspapers and current affairs publications from all over the world, including the Financial Times. Articles from 1970s to current. IMPORTANT: includes low quality newspapers, so we recommend you search specific publications (see help guide). Also includes company profiles, industry news, country reports, biographies and legal cases.
| Start Training |
User Guide which provides a detailed overview of how to use Passport, allowing you to find the information you need more efficiently. Also, see the Library's guide on Getting Started with Passport. Passport provides statistics and in depth reports on companies, industries and countries worldwide. Includes consumer trends, demographic data, socioeconomic data, macroeconomic data and global reports.
| Start Training |
|
Available through PsycINFO's platform provider EBSCO, these video guides demonstrate basic and advanced search techniques. PsychINFO is the key database for psychology and related subjects. Contains references and abstracts for scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations, some dating back to the 1600s.
| Start Training |
|
Available through ScienceDirect's platform provider EBSCO, these video guides demonstrate basic and advanced search techniques. ScienceDirect provides full-text access to Elsevier published journal articles since 1995, selected journal backfiles and online books.
| Start Training |
Short, targeted training materials which demonstrate the features and capabilities of SciFinder. Special topics for advanced users are also available. SciFinder is the online version of Chemical Abstracts, the main database for chemistry. It provides easy access substance and reaction information, patent and journal references.
| Start Training |
Learn about the features and tools of Scopus, the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. It delivers a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
| Start Training |
|
Video tutorials designed to provide training on using Web of Science (previously called the Web of Knowledge). Topics covered include search tips, setting up citation alerts and refining and analysing search results. Web of Science provides access to a number of databases including Web of Science Core Collection (covering engineering, science, health, social science, humanities, etc.), BIOSIS (biological & biomedical science) and Inspec (physics, computing, electrical & electronic engineering, etc.).
| Start Training |
|
A series of training videos and interactive lessons which introduce various aspects of using Westlaw. Westlaw holds a wide range of reports, legislation, journals and other publications. It offers various research tools, including ‘case analysis’ which shows the history and subsequent treatment of individual UK cases.
| Start Training |
|
Advice on registering, downloading data and getting further help from WRDS which provides access to a range of third party business intelligence data.