Skip to main content

Training and Workshops: Home

Library Enabling Careers All workshops Online training

 

 

All workshops

Careers: Ask the adviser

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Friday January 17, 2020
11:00 - 12:00
Building 37 Rm 2001
Book Now

 

This session provides you with the chance to work on your own CV, covering letter, application or personal statement with the support of an adviser. If you have learned the basics, but are finding it challenging to work on your document(s) independently.

 

Careers: Discover Covering Letters

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Friday January 17, 2020
10:00 - 10:30
Building 37 Rm 2001
Book Now

 

A 20 minute introductory session focusing on the purpose and basics of Covering Letters and where to find additional resources to help you start creating your own. There is an additional 10 minutes at the end for your Questions and Answers. If you wish to attend this session and you have any additional support needs please contact the Careers and Employability Service to let us know (email careers@soton.ac.uk or telephone 023 8059 3501)..

 

Careers: Discover Applications

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Monday, January 20, 2020
14:00 - 14:30
Building 37 Rm 2001
Book Now

 

A 20 minute introductory session focusing on the purpose and basics of applications and where to find additional resources to help you complete them effectively . There is an additional 10 minutes at the end for your questions. If you wish to attend this session and you have any additional support needs please contact the Careers and Employability Service to let us know (email careers@soton.ac.uk or telephone 023 8059 3501).

 

Careers: Explore CVs

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Tuesday, January 21, 2020
10:00 - 10:50
Building 37 Rm 2001
Book Now

 

A 50 minute workshop, exploring how to use a job description to target your CV for a specific role, identify and highlight your relevant skills effectively. You will have the opportunity to ask your own questions throughout/at the end of the workshop. If you wish to attend this session and you have any additional support needs please contact the Careers and Employability Service to let us know (email careers@soton.ac.uk or telephone 023 8059 3501).

 

Careers: Ask the adviser

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Tuesday January 21, 2020
11:00 - 12:00
Building 37 Rm 2001
Book Now

 

This session provides you with the chance to work on your own CV, covering letter, application or personal statement with the support of an adviser. If you have learned the basics, but are finding it challenging to work on your document(s) independently.

 

Careers: Explore Covering Letters

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Wednesday January 22, 2020
14:00 - 14:50
Building 37 Rm 2001
Book Now

 

A 50 minute workshop, looking at how to create impact with your covering letter, presenting yourself positively and demonstrating your suitability for the role. You will have the opportunity to ask your own questions throughout/at the end of the workshop..

 

E-thesis: What you need to know from the start

For: Date: Time: Location: All pgrs
Thursday, January 23, 2020
09:30 - 11:00
Hartley Library, Training Room 4075
Book Now

This session won’t tell you how to write your thesis but it will cover the practical things of preparing a thesis for deposit in our Institutional Repository, including completing the Permission to Deposit Thesis form. Preparation is the key and it is never too soon to start clearing third party copyright materials, using the thesis templates, organising references, research notes or research data. Please book through gradbook https://www.gradbook.soton.ac.uk/.

Careers: Explore interviews

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Thursday, January 23, 2020
14:00 - 14:50
Building 37 Rm 2001
Book Now

 

A 50 minute workshop, looking at different types of interviews, questions you might encounter and how to prepare effectively. You will have the opportunity to ask your own questions throughout/at the end of the workshop.

 

Careers: Ask the adviser

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Friday January 24, 2020
15:00 - 16:00
Building 37 Rm 2001
Book Now

 

This session provides you with the chance to work on your own CV, covering letter, application or personal statement with the support of an adviser. If you have learned the basics, but are finding it challenging to work on your document(s) independently.

 

Careers: Discover CVs

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Friday January 24, 2020
14:00 - 14:30
Building 37 Rm 2001
Book Now

 

A 20 minute introductory session focusing on the purpose and basics of CVs and where to find additional resources to help you create your own. There is an additional 10 minutes at the end for your questions. If you wish to attend this session and you have any additional support needs please contact the Careers and Employability Service to let us know (email careers@soton.ac.uk or telephone 023 8059 3501).

 

Data Mangement Plan: Why plan? Briefing for 1st year PhD students

For: Date: Time: Location: 1st yr PGRs
Monday January 27, 2020
13:00 - 14:00
Building 02 Room 1083
Book Now

All 1st year PhD’s are required to create a Data Management Plan (DMP). Keeping your data safe, findable and re-usable is essential to good research. Planning this from the start helps not only the sharing of data in the longer-term, but ensures that it is available for you as the primary researcher to find and use as you begin to write up your thesis or article.

Careers: Disability, Disclosure and Employability

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Tuesday January 28, 2020
10:30 - 12:30
Building 34 Rm 1020
Book Now

 

A workshop for students with a disability, specific learning difficulty such as dyslexia or dyspraxia, or long term health condition. This workshop explores disclosure and support in the graduate recruitment process and in the workplace. We will discuss your rights as an applicant or employee, whether, when and how to disclose to an employer and there will be the opportunity to ask any questions. If you wish to attend this session and you have any additional support needs please contact the Careers and Employability Service to let us know (email careers@soton.ac.uk or telephone 023 8059 3501)..

 

Referencing and avoiding plagiarism

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
12:00 - 13:00
Hartley Library Training Room 4077
Book Now

In academic writing it is essential that you acknowledge the sources of your information and ideas, both in your text through in-text citations and in a bibliography or reference list at the end of your work. This session covers the basics of referencing; what it is, why you should do it and which style you should be using. Examples given use a variety of styles including the Harvard style. There will be time for questions and to practice what you have learnt via some short activities within the session.

Finding information for your assignments

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Monday, February 03, 2020
12:00 - 13:00
Hartley Library Training Room 4077
Book Now

 

This interactive workshop will explore a variety of resources that you can use to find information for your assignments, including the library search tools WebCat and DelphiS and various open access resources. You will learn how to find specific resources such as online journal articles and ebooks. We will also briefly cover how to evaluate information and give guidance on how you can get more help or support in finding information for your assignments.

 

Critical thinking: an introduction

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Tuesday February 04, 2020
12.15 - 13:00
Hartley Library Training Room 4075
Book Now

 

A brief introduction to the idea of critical thinking - what it is, why you need to do it and how to go about it. This session will introduce you to the main concepts and suggest resources to help you improve your skills. There will be time to practice what you have learnt via some short activities within the session.

 

Bibliometrics: Measuring the impact of research

For: Date: Time: Location: All pgrs and staff
Tuesday, February 04, 2020
13:00 - 14:30
Hartley Library, Training Room 4077
Book Now

Measuring research impact is increasingly important - and can be applied to journals, researchers and even whole departments or universities. This session will give you an understanding of the importance and key principles of how to measure this impact, and how metrics can be used responsibly. Please book through gradbook https://www.gradbook.soton.ac.uk/ or staffbook https://www.staffbook.soton.ac.uk/

Proofreading - the basics

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Wednesday, February 05, 2020
13:00 - 14:00
Hartley Library Training Room 4075
Book Now

This session explains the differences between editing and proofreading. It will focus on giving practical tips for proofreading your written work to pick up errors in spelling, formatting, punctuation etc.

Data Management Plans & Thesis Deposit: briefing for PhD supervisors

For: Date: Time: Location: PhD Supervisors
Wednesday, February 05, 2020
16:00 - 17:00
Building 05 Room 2015 (L/T H)
Book Now

Please book through staffbook  https://www.staffbook.soton.ac.uk/login/

Writing the Dissertation: the Methods or Methodology

For: Date: Time: Location: Undergraduate students
Thursday, February 06, 2020
13:00 - 14:30
Hartley Library Training Room 4075
Book Now

Please note that this session is for undergraduates working on their dissertation, or extended project. The Library will be running sessions in the summer focusing on the postgraduate dissertation. This workshop provides guidance on writing a methods or methodology chapter for an undergraduate dissertation, or extended project. The session covers the main conventions of a methods or methodology chapter and also focuses on practical ways of structuring the chapter in a clear and coherent way. This is part of the Library’s ‘Writing the Dissertation’ series for undergraduate students where we break the dissertation down, piece by piece. See this page for more workshops in the series.

How to make the most of Open Access publishing

For: Date: Time: Location: All pgrs
Monday, February 10, 2020
09:30 - 10:30
Hartley Library, Training Room 4077
Book Now

An introduction to open access publishing including how to make your research outputs open access, an overview of funder policies and information on how to find and use open access articles. By the end of the session you should be able to: - Describe open access publishing and its benefits - Appraise appropriate routes to open access publishing to meet your funder requirements - Use Pure (our research management system) to upload your research outputs - Locate open access journal articles - Know how to contact the Library for help. Please book through gradbook https://www.gradbook.soton.ac.uk/.

Referencing and avoiding plagiarism

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Monday February 10, 2020
13:00 - 14:00
Hartley Library Training Room 4077
Book Now

In academic writing it is essential that you acknowledge the sources of your information and ideas, both in your text through in-text citations and in a bibliography or reference list at the end of your work. This session covers the basics of referencing; what it is, why you should do it and which style you should be using. Examples given use a variety of styles including the Harvard style. There will be time for questions and to practice what you have learnt via some short activities within the session.

Finding information for your assignments

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
13:00 - 14:00
Hartley Library Training Room 4077
Book Now

 

This interactive workshop will explore a variety of resources that you can use to find information for your assignments, including the library search tools WebCat and DelphiS and various open access resources. You will learn how to find specific resources such as online journal articles and ebooks. We will also briefly cover how to evaluate information and give guidance on how you can get more help or support in finding information for your assignments.

 

Enabling Services: Assistive Technology

For: Date: Time: Location: Students engaged with Enabling Services
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
14:00 - 15:00
Hartley Library, ATS, Room 2047
Book Now

Designed for students with a specific learning difficulty such as Dyslexia, this workshop will provide an overview of software available on University workstations, which will support you with your academic studies. The workshop will be interactive and familiarise you with using software such as:  ClaroRead, Read&Write, Dragon Naturally Speaking and MindJet MindManager. This is a small group workshop, aimed at students with a specific learning difficulty, such as Dyslexia.

Data Mangement Plan: Why plan? Briefing for 1st year PhD students

For: Date: Time: Location: 1st yr PGRs
Wednesday February 12, 2020
13:00 - 14:00
Building 46 Room 2005
Book Now

All 1st year PhD’s are required to create a Data Management Plan (DMP). Keeping your data safe, findable and re-usable is essential to good research. Planning this from the start helps not only the sharing of data in the longer-term, but ensures that it is available for you as the primary researcher to find and use as you begin to write up your thesis or article.

Finding information for your assignments

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Wednesday, February 19, 2020
12:00 - 13:00
Hartley Library Training Room 4077
Book Now

 

This interactive workshop will explore a variety of resources that you can use to find information for your assignments, including the library search tools WebCat and DelphiS and various open access resources. You will learn how to find specific resources such as online journal articles and ebooks. We will also briefly cover how to evaluate information and give guidance on how you can get more help or support in finding information for your assignments.

 

Research Data Management: what funders expect and what you need to do

For: Date: Time: Location: Staff and late stage PGRs
Wednesday, February 19, 2020
14:00 - 15:00
Building 85 Room 2213
Book Now

For Staff and late stage PGR's Research data management is about good research practice. Greater emphasis is being placed on research data as an output and increasingly Governments and Funders have the expectation that data, created through research they have funded, will be made available for future research. Please book through staffbook  https://www.staffbook.soton.ac.uk/login/ or gradbook https://www.gradbook.soton.ac.uk/login/

E-thesis: What you need to know from the start

For: Date: Time: Location: All pgrs
Friday, February 21, 2020
13:00 - 14:30
Hartley Library, Training Room 4075
Book Now

This session won’t tell you how to write your thesis but it will cover the practical things of preparing a thesis for deposit in our Institutional Repository, including completing the Permission to Deposit Thesis form. Preparation is the key and it is never too soon to start clearing third party copyright materials, using the thesis templates, organising references, research notes or research data. Please book through gradbook https://www.gradbook.soton.ac.uk/.

Dissertations: Finding Resources

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Tuesday, February 25, 2020
13:00 - 13:40
Hartley Library Training Room 4077
Book Now

Move away from Google and identify relevant scholarly resources such as journal articles, books, conference proceedings and reports using subject databases and other reliable sources. You will learn about evaluating web pages, the basics of referencing, and how to access resources from our collections and beyond.

Enabling Services: Reflective writing

For: Date: Time: Location: Students who study at WSA that have engaged with Enabling Services
Tuesday, February 25, 2020
14:00 - 15:00
Winchester School of Art, Westside Rm 1163
Book Now

Designed for students with a specific learning difficulty such as Dyslexia, this workshop will address the challenges of reflective writing and how to overcome them by providing you with top tips and techniques for writing reflectively. This will include identifying key vocabulary for reflective writing and demonstrating the use of writing frame templates to boost your reflective writing marks.

Critical thinking: an introduction

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Wednesday February 26, 2020
12.15 - 13:00
Hartley Library Training Room 4075
Book Now

 

A brief introduction to the idea of critical thinking - what it is, why you need to do it and how to go about it. This session will introduce you to the main concepts and suggest resources to help you improve your skills. There will be time to practice what you have learnt via some short activities within the session.

 

Combining structure and formatting your dissertation (Word for PC)

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Thursday, February 27, 2020
13:00 - 14:30
Hartley Library Training Room 4077
Book Now

Learn about best practice when formatting a long and structured document such as a dissertation. This is the first of three sessions on using Word for PC to create your dissertation. This hands-on workshop allows you to get the very best out of Word functionality. By the end of the session you will have an understanding of what Styles are and why they are key to using Word; how to apply and modify key Styles; make use of the additional benefits of Styles - Navigation Pane, Table of Contents, Cross-reference and accessibility features.

Finding information for your assignments

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Thursday, February 27, 2020
12:00 - 13:00
Hartley Library Training Room 4077
Book Now

 

This interactive workshop will explore a variety of resources that you can use to find information for your assignments, including the library search tools WebCat and DelphiS and various open access resources. You will learn how to find specific resources such as online journal articles and ebooks. We will also briefly cover how to evaluate information and give guidance on how you can get more help or support in finding information for your assignments.

 

Data Mangement Plan: Why plan? Briefing for 1st year PhD students

,
For: Date: Time: Location: 1st yr PGRs
Friday, February 28, 2020
15:00 - 16:00
Building 06 Room 1077 (L/T A)
Book Now

All 1st year PhD’s are required to create a Data Management Plan (DMP). Keeping your data safe, findable and re-usable is essential to good research. Planning this from the start helps not only the sharing of data in the longer-term, but ensures that it is available for you as the primary researcher to find and use as you begin to write up your thesis or article.

Literature searching using the Systematic Review methodology

For: Date: Time: Location: All pgrs in Business, Education, Computer Science, Geography and Environmental Science who are doing a Systematic Review
Monday, March 02, 2020
14:00 - 16:30
Hartley Library, Training Room 4077
Book Now

This practical course will show you some important tools and techniques to help you create a search strategy suitable for use in a Systematised Literature Review, sometimes also referred to as a Systematic Review. The session will focus on key databases hosted on different platforms such as Proquest, EBSCO and Web of Science. Please book through gradbook https://www.gradbook.soton.ac.uk/.

Enabling Services: Presentation Skills

For: Date: Time: Location: Students engaged with Enabling Services
Tuesday, March 03, 2020
14:00 - 15:00
Hartley Library, ATS Office, Rm 2073
Book Now

Designed for students with a specific learning difficulty such as Dyslexia, this workshop is designed to help improve your confidence in delivering oral presentations and will cover the basics of a good oral presentation, including presentation structure and visual aids. We will provide tips on timing, delivery, answering questions and coping with nerves. This is a small group workshop, aimed at students with a specific learning difficulty, such as Dyslexia.

Writing the Dissertation: the Results and Discussion

For: Date: Time: Location: Undergraduate students
Wednesday, March 04, 2020
14:00 - 15:30
Hartley Library Training Room 4075
Book Now

Please note that this session is for undergraduates working on their dissertation, or extended project. The Library will be running sessions in the summer focusing on the postgraduate dissertation. This workshop provides guidance on writing the results and discussion chapters, or chapter, for an undergraduate dissertation, or extended project. The session clarifies the difference between the two, before covering the main conventions that characterise these sections, such as using tables and figures. This is part of the Library’s ‘Writing the Dissertation’ series for undergraduate students where we break the dissertation down, piece by piece. See this page for more workshops in the series.

Enabling Services: Revision and memory for exams

For: Date: Time: Location: Southampton students engaged with enabling services
Wednesday, March 04, 2020
14:00 - 15:00
Hartley Library, ATS Office, Rm 4073
Book Now

Designed for students with a specific learning difficulty such as Dyslexia, this workshop will introduce you to a range of strategies and multi-sensory techniques to help you effectively revise and commit information to your long term memory. We will also discuss how to plan an effective revision timetable. There will be opportunities to ask questions related to your own work and share experiences with others, in a small, informal group setting. This is a small group workshop, aimed at students with a specific learning difficulty, such as Dyslexia

Using tables and graphics in your dissertation (Word for PC)

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Thursday, March 05, 2020
13:00 - 14:30
Hartley Library Training Room 4077
Book Now

Learn about best practice in Word (for PC) when including data or graphical evidence. Such objects should be clearly labelled, referenced and made accessibility compliant. This is the second of three hands-on sessions using Word for PC to create your dissertation. This session is all about ensuring that you can: convert text to tables; repeat your table's header row; sort data inside a table; use referencing tools such as captions, cross-references and tables of figures; add accessibility features.

Finding information for your assignments

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Friday, March 06, 2020
13:00 - 14:00
Hartley Library Training Room 4077
Book Now

 

This interactive workshop will explore a variety of resources that you can use to find information for your assignments, including the library search tools WebCat and DelphiS and various open access resources. You will learn how to find specific resources such as online journal articles and ebooks. We will also briefly cover how to evaluate information and give guidance on how you can get more help or support in finding information for your assignments.

 

Dissertation page layout (Word for PC)

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Monday, March 09, 2020
10:00 - 11:30
Hartley Library Training Room 4077
Book Now

Learn about best practice in Word (for PC) when using page layout features. This is the third of three hands-on sessions using Word for PC to create your dissertation. This session is all about ensuring that you can correctly set up your file paper size and margins; create landscape pages for large tables or diagrams; create running content such as page headers and page numbering; ensure content that you want to appear together stays together.

Writing the Dissertation: the Results and Discussion

For: Date: Time: Location: Undergraduate students
Tuesday, March 10, 2020
13:00 - 14:30
Hartley Library Training Room 4075
Book Now

Please note that this session is for undergraduates working on their dissertation, or extended project. The Library will be running sessions in the summer focusing on the postgraduate dissertation. This workshop provides guidance on writing the results and discussion chapters, or chapter, for an undergraduate dissertation, or extended project. The session clarifies the difference between the two, before covering the main conventions that characterise these sections, such as using tables and figures. This is part of the Library’s ‘Writing the Dissertation’ series for undergraduate students where we break the dissertation down, piece by piece. See this page for more workshops in the series.

Referencing and avoiding plagiarism

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Tuesday March 10, 2020
12:00 - 13:00
Hartley Library Training Room 4077
Book Now

In academic writing it is essential that you acknowledge the sources of your information and ideas, both in your text through in-text citations and in a bibliography or reference list at the end of your work. This session covers the basics of referencing; what it is, why you should do it and which style you should be using. Examples given use a variety of styles including the Harvard style. There will be time for questions and to practice what you have learnt via some short activities within the session.

Enabling Services: Effective exam techniques

For: Date: Time: Location: Southampton students engaged with enabling services
Tuesday, March 10, 2020
14:00 - 15:00
Hartley Library, ATS Office, Rm 4073
Book Now

Designed for students with a specific learning difficulty such as Dyslexia, this workshop will introduce you to strategies and techniques to help you effectively revise and memorise information. We will also cover techniques to help you prepare for the management of the exam itself, to enable you to make the best possible use of the time available to you. This is a small group workshop, aimed at students with a specific learning difficulty, such as Dyslexia.

Critical thinking: an introduction

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Wednesday March 11, 2020
12.15 - 13:00
Hartley Library Training Room 4075
Book Now

 

A brief introduction to the idea of critical thinking - what it is, why you need to do it and how to go about it. This session will introduce you to the main concepts and suggest resources to help you improve your skills. There will be time to practice what you have learnt via some short activities within the session.

 

Dissertations: Finding Resources

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Thursday, March 12, 2020
13:00 - 13:40
Hartley Library Training Room 4077
Book Now

Move away from Google and identify relevant scholarly resources such as journal articles, books, conference proceedings and reports using subject databases and other reliable sources. You will learn about evaluating web pages, the basics of referencing, and how to access resources from our collections and beyond.

Writing the Dissertation: the Introduction and Conclusion

For: Date: Time: Location: Undergraduate students
Thursday, March 12, 2020
13:00 - 14:30
Hartley Library Training Room 4075
Book Now

Please note that this session is for undergraduates working on their dissertation, or extended project. The Library will be running sessions in the summer focusing on the postgraduate dissertation. This workshop provides guidance on writing the introduction and conclusion of an undergraduate dissertation, or extended project. Whilst often overlooked, this session emphasises the importance of both the introduction and conclusion and how they should be structured to bookend the whole dissertation. This is part of the Library’s ‘Writing the Dissertation’ series for undergraduate students where we break the dissertation down, piece by piece. See this page for more workshops in the series.

Writing the Dissertation: the Introduction and Conclusion

For: Date: Time: Location: Undergraduate students
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
14:00 - 15:30
Hartley Library Training Room 4075
Book Now

Please note that this session is for undergraduates working on their dissertation, or extended project. The Library will be running sessions in the summer focusing on the postgraduate dissertation. This workshop provides guidance on writing the introduction and conclusion of an undergraduate dissertation, or extended project. Whilst often overlooked, this session emphasises the importance of both the introduction and conclusion and how they should be structured to bookend the whole dissertation. This is part of the Library’s ‘Writing the Dissertation’ series for undergraduate students where we break the dissertation down, piece by piece. See this page for more workshops in the series.

Proofreading - the basics

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Friday, March 20, 2020
12:00 - 13:00
Hartley Library Training Room 4075
Book Now

This session explains the differences between editing and proofreading. It will focus on giving practical tips for proofreading your written work to pick up errors in spelling, formatting, punctuation etc.

E-thesis: What you need to know from the start

For: Date: Time: Location: All pgrs
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
14:00 - 15:30
Hartley Library, Training Room 4075
Book Now

This session won’t tell you how to write your thesis but it will cover the practical things of preparing a thesis for deposit in our Institutional Repository, including completing the Permission to Deposit Thesis form. Preparation is the key and it is never too soon to start clearing third party copyright materials, using the thesis templates, organising references, research notes or research data. Please book through gradbook https://www.gradbook.soton.ac.uk/.

Systematic Reviews (Health Related): Searching the literature

For: Date: Time: Location: All pgrs in Faculty of Medicine, School of Health Sciences and School of Psychology
Monday, April 06, 2020
14:00 - 16:30
Hartley Library, Training Room 4077
Book Now

This practical course for PGR or PhD students will show you some important tools and techniques to help you create a search strategy suitable for use in a Systematic Review. The session will focus on health related databases hosted on EBSCO, OVID and Web of Science platforms. Please book through gradbook https://www.gradbook.soton.ac.uk/.

E-thesis: What you need to know from the start

For: Date: Time: Location: All pgrs
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
09:30 - 11:00
Hartley Library, Training Room 4075
Book Now

This session won’t tell you how to write your thesis but it will cover the practical things of preparing a thesis for deposit in our Institutional Repository, including completing the Permission to Deposit Thesis form. Preparation is the key and it is never too soon to start clearing third party copyright materials, using the thesis templates, organising references, research notes or research data. Please book through gradbook https://www.gradbook.soton.ac.uk/.

Proofreading - the basics

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Thursday, April 23, 2020
12:00 - 13:00
Hartley Library Training Room 4075
Book Now

This session explains the differences between editing and proofreading. It will focus on giving practical tips for proofreading your written work to pick up errors in spelling, formatting, punctuation etc.

Critical thinking: an introduction

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Friday April 24, 2020
12.15 - 13:00
Hartley Library Training Room 4075
Book Now

 

A brief introduction to the idea of critical thinking - what it is, why you need to do it and how to go about it. This session will introduce you to the main concepts and suggest resources to help you improve your skills. There will be time to practice what you have learnt via some short activities within the session.

 

Literature searching using the Systematic Review methodology

For: Date: Time: Location: All pgrs in Business, Education, Computer Science, Geography and Environmental Science who are doing a Systematic Review
Wednesday April 29, 2020
09:30 - 12:00
Hartley Library, Training Room 4077
Book Now

This practical course will show you some important tools and techniques to help you create a search strategy suitable for use in a Systematised Literature Review, sometimes also referred to as a Systematic Review. The session will focus on key databases hosted on different platforms such as Proquest, EBSCO and Web of Science. Please book through gradbook https://www.gradbook.soton.ac.uk/.

Referencing and avoiding plagiarism

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Wednesday April 29, 2020
13:00 - 14:00
Hartley Library Training Room 4077
Book Now

In academic writing it is essential that you acknowledge the sources of your information and ideas, both in your text through in-text citations and in a bibliography or reference list at the end of your work. This session covers the basics of referencing; what it is, why you should do it and which style you should be using. Examples given use a variety of styles including the Harvard style. There will be time for questions and to practice what you have learnt via some short activities within the session.

Enabling Services: Presentation Skills

For: Date: Time: Location: Students engaged with Enabling Services
Wednesday, May 06, 2020
14:00 - 15:00
Hartley Library, ATS Office, Rm 2073
Book Now

Designed for students with a specific learning difficulty such as Dyslexia, this workshop is designed to help improve your confidence in delivering oral presentations and will cover the basics of a good oral presentation, including presentation structure and visual aids. We will provide tips on timing, delivery, answering questions and coping with nerves. This is a small group workshop, aimed at students with a specific learning difficulty, such as Dyslexia.

Proofreading - the basics

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
12:00 - 13:00
Hartley Library Training Room 4075
Book Now

This session explains the differences between editing and proofreading. It will focus on giving practical tips for proofreading your written work to pick up errors in spelling, formatting, punctuation etc.

How to make the most of Open Access publishing

For: Date: Time: Location: All pgrs
Thursday, May 14, 2020
09:30 - 10:30
Hartley Library, Training Room 4077
Book Now

An introduction to open access publishing including how to make your research outputs open access, an overview of funder policies and information on how to find and use open access articles. By the end of the session you should be able to: - Describe open access publishing and its benefits - Appraise appropriate routes to open access publishing to meet your funder requirements - Use Pure (our research management system) to upload your research outputs - Locate open access journal articles - Know how to contact the Library for help. Please book through gradbook https://www.gradbook.soton.ac.uk/.

Bibliometrics: Measuring the impact of research

For: Date: Time: Location: All pgrs and staff
Friday, May 15, 2020
10:00 - 11:30
Hartley Library, Training Room 4077
Book Now

Measuring research impact is increasingly important - and can be applied to journals, researchers and even whole departments or universities. This session will give you an understanding of the importance and key principles of how to measure this impact, and how metrics can be used responsibly. Please book through gradbook https://www.gradbook.soton.ac.uk/ or staffbook https://www.staffbook.soton.ac.uk/

E-thesis: What you need to know from the start

For: Date: Time: Location: All pgrs
Thursday May 21, 2020
11:00 - 12:30
Hartley Library, Training Room 4075
Book Now

This session won’t tell you how to write your thesis but it will cover the practical things of preparing a thesis for deposit in our Institutional Repository, including completing the Permission to Deposit Thesis form. Preparation is the key and it is never too soon to start clearing third party copyright materials, using the thesis templates, organising references, research notes or research data. Please book through gradbook https://www.gradbook.soton.ac.uk/.

Critical thinking: an introduction

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Wednesday June 10, 2020
12.15 - 13:00
Hartley Library Training Room 4075
Book Now

 

A brief introduction to the idea of critical thinking - what it is, why you need to do it and how to go about it. This session will introduce you to the main concepts and suggest resources to help you improve your skills. There will be time to practice what you have learnt via some short activities within the session.

 

Systematic Reviews (Health Related): Searching the literature

For: Date: Time: Location: All pgrs in Faculty of Medicine, School of Health Sciences and School of Psychology
Friday, June 12, 2020
10:00 - 12:30
Hartley Library, Training Room 4077
Book Now

This practical course for PGR or PhD students will show you some important tools and techniques to help you create a search strategy suitable for use in a Systematic Review. The session will focus on health related databases hosted on EBSCO, OVID and Web of Science platforms. Please book through gradbook https://www.gradbook.soton.ac.uk/.

Dissertations: Finding Resources

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
13:00 - 13:40
Hartley Library Training Room 4077
Book Now

Move away from Google and identify relevant scholarly resources such as journal articles, books, conference proceedings and reports using subject databases and other reliable sources. You will learn about evaluating web pages, the basics of referencing, and how to access resources from our collections and beyond.

E-thesis: What you need to know from the start

For: Date: Time: Location: All pgrs
Monday, June 22, 2020
14:00 - 15:30
Hartley Library, Training Room 4075
Book Now

This session won’t tell you how to write your thesis but it will cover the practical things of preparing a thesis for deposit in our Institutional Repository, including completing the Permission to Deposit Thesis form. Preparation is the key and it is never too soon to start clearing third party copyright materials, using the thesis templates, organising references, research notes or research data. Please book through gradbook https://www.gradbook.soton.ac.uk/.

Critical thinking: an introduction

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Tuesday June 23, 2020
12.15 - 13:00
Hartley Library Training Room 4075
Book Now

 

A brief introduction to the idea of critical thinking - what it is, why you need to do it and how to go about it. This session will introduce you to the main concepts and suggest resources to help you improve your skills. There will be time to practice what you have learnt via some short activities within the session.

 

Dissertations: Finding Resources

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
12:00 - 12:40
Hartley Library Training Room 4077
Book Now

Move away from Google and identify relevant scholarly resources such as journal articles, books, conference proceedings and reports using subject databases and other reliable sources. You will learn about evaluating web pages, the basics of referencing, and how to access resources from our collections and beyond.

Critical thinking: an introduction

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Wednesday July 08, 2020
12.15 - 13:00
Hartley Library Training Room 4075
Book Now

 

A brief introduction to the idea of critical thinking - what it is, why you need to do it and how to go about it. This session will introduce you to the main concepts and suggest resources to help you improve your skills. There will be time to practice what you have learnt via some short activities within the session.

 

Dissertations: Finding Resources

For: Date: Time: Location: All
Thursday, July 09, 2020
13:00 - 13:40
Hartley Library Training Room 4077
Book Now

Move away from Google and identify relevant scholarly resources such as journal articles, books, conference proceedings and reports using subject databases and other reliable sources. You will learn about evaluating web pages, the basics of referencing, and how to access resources from our collections and beyond.